Newbie Degrading Armor Home Rule

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Degrading Armor Home Rule

I'm a savage worlds newbie. I'm planning to use Savage Worlds to run a grim and gritty fantasy campaign. I'm considering a homebrew rule but I don't really know the system well enough to know if it's a bad idea.

I would disallow Soak rolls unless you are wearing armor. If you are wearing armor a soak would still cost a bennie but the armor's protective value would be lowered by one until it's repaired. I think this would make combat more dangerous in general which I like. It would make armor more powerful which I like, and it would add a grittier feel with damaged battered armor.

I'm curious if anyone more experienced with Savage Worlds notice any problems that this would cause. Thanks for any feedback.

Welcome to the forums and to Savage Worlds!

A grim and gritty campaign is mostly a matter of description and style, especially in Savage Worlds.
    Definitions matter, so here's the ones I am emphasizing. Grim - harsh or cruel. Gritty - unpleasant situation.
    Describe the blood of battle, the bruises from being Shaken, the evisceration of Extras that have taken a Wound and you'll have a very gritty feeling in combat. The grimness will come from the stories of loss, of isolation, of desperation that characters feel and are shaped by - a lack of good endings, of chances to make things better, will make a campaign and setting feel grim.
    The optional setting rule Gritty Damage can make combat more detailed, dangerous, and painful. It does take some effort to remember, which has proven a problem in my own campaigns.