Most feasible homemade firearms for my setting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Most feasible homemade firearms for my setting

For a big group of competent people in a tropical or semitropical setting, what would be the most feasible type of firearms they could produce on their own with quite basic tools and equipment, provided that they already have the ingredients to make gunpowder and have the skills and know-how to make firearms?

My thoughts went to flintlock firearms since they seem relatively simple and feasible to make, but a player in my group wondered why they could not just make percussion firearms instead. I had a look at those and while they do seem superior in every way (not least being reliable in wet weather) they also seem a degree more complex to produce. Perhaps too much.

Either way it's important for me to know what firearms the players could have access to in this game.

Any historical gun expert want to chime in?

I am NOT a gun expert, but here's my two cents:

That depends on what tools and material they have available, but without access to high quality alloys and metallurgy tools I would say the best they can do is a matchlock (not flintlock) that can be fired once before needing repair.
    This means they can use use it as a shock volly before charging to melee, have more than one on them, use it for traps or be creative in other ways

Comment

Considerations.

Tropical/semitropical don't really describe what the info we need. Are these castaways looking to hunt/fight/etc? Are they simply living in an area in the equatorial band? What tech level and manufacturing capabilities are we talking about?

Do they have the ability to turn metal barrels? And if not steel barrels, the weight is going to go up.

Percussion caps do not use gunpowder. Do they have the means to make mercury fulminate? And not blow themselves up? And do they have the means to make much higher tolerance parts of a caplock system?

Comment