Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sniper Rifles

Hi,

I am fairly new to SW but like it a lot. One thing I am not that happy about is that most weapons all feel the same, so i thought about ways to make them feel different, without breaking the pace of the game. (like shotguns deal more damage at close range.)
    Here's what I came up with for sniper rifles:

Sniper Rifle:
    When firing this weapon, roll two Shooting dices instead of one and discard the lowest success. This means that to score a success on the roll, both dices must be a success. To score a raise only one die must succeed with a raise, as long as the other is a normal success. Wild Cards get their Wilde Die as usual but still need to score a success with two of the three dices. This weapon can never be fired with a rate of fire greater than one.
    Mathematically this rule penalizes low hit-chances, so character's will need a high Shooting skill and a good shooting position (with only few penalties). In exchange, there is a bigger chance to hit with a raise.
    I think this rule makes a good high-risk and high-reward gameplay for Sniper characters, without breaking the pace as there's no additional roll, only one additional die in the shooting roll to consider.

I don't know, that sounds like a really strong penalty. If I have a shooting of d10 and my target, after all modifiers, is at -2 (needing to roll a 6+) there is a 50% chance I will miss because my second die does not score high enough? Even if one explodes, meaning I got a raise (or more), I still miss?
    Yes, that ignores the wild die. That gives a whopping 16% chance that my (multi-)raise miss could be a hit.

Maybe just me but I would pass on sniper rifles and just get a good hunting rifle.
    I have way too much time but do not always edit myself properly. Please do not take offense.

Comment