Making Combat More Fun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Making Combat More Fun

I've been running Savage Worlds for a couple of years now, and I've accumulated some stuff I do to make combat more fun. Stuff to encourage my players to use Tricks, make Intimidation more viable, and to make Called Shots more fun. And, of course, grappling. Just adding more options to combat and making them more attractive, in order to prevent the classic 'I attack, I miss, I attack, I miss, I attack...' monotone. Figured with the forum back up I'd share some of these houserules.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1DI...aw5H_dvcBdsR6o

Thanks for the share. I think we all have "houserules" to adapt S.W. to our tastes.
    Thing like Brutal/Wild attack differentiation is pretty common, for what I see (while I use the Zadmar version, ie. +2 to Attack OR +2 do damage (buf if you hit with Raise you gain +4 damage instead).
    From a quick reading, I'm not sold on -4 parry when engaged in Grapple. This can be a fight-killer, when you are 2 on 1. While "unrealistic", the standard Gang-Up bonus is already factored in, when you grapple an enemy, and a friend of your attack him. Also, the grappled one probably can't use big weapons, so it could be considered an unarmed defender.
    "Balance is the key, Trapping is the word." - - Lord Lance

Proud reviser of the SAVAGE FREE BESTIARY

Comment

Also note that a Grappled character can't use his Fighting skill outside of the grapple. Which means he's Parry 2 against folks outside of the grapple.
      -4 is less powerful and more powerful, depending upon the situation.
      I hope you find the above post useful. And not insulting, because I was trying to be helpful, not insulting; being a pedantic jerk, that isn't always clear.

Comment

Originally posted by Lord Lance View Post
        Thanks for the share. I think we all have "houserules" to adapt S.W. to our tastes.