Savage Tools (2.0) Development Log

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Savage Tools (2.0) Development Log

As some of you know I've been rewriting my Savage Worlds Tools for a few months now. Lately I've been a bit Idle waiting for more "Black" details to emerge before I start the rewrite of the character generator. Since then I've created a nodejs server, javascript client (with offline access to create your own vehicle and characters from browser cache!), the beginnings discord bot (oh snap - check out the screenshots), and a slew of other new tools to be written while waiting for the new Core Book.

Some of the exiting major advancements from my existing tools:
    • Attach an image to your creation! This even works in offline mode, and is then uploaded the the sync/share server to spread across your devices.
    • Log into the sync server (at a memorable and awesome domain, I'll release that later) to make sure your creations are on all your items
    • Optionally create a share link for your creations for others to view (and eventually copy into their own libraries).
    • Experimental Discord Bot integration. My eventual goal will be to be able to group characters into a 'session' and have the ability the ask the bot for rolls against certain traits, etc. This is a long path down the development tree.

What I'm currently working on:
    • Sync stability. I'm seeing a few hiccups on sharing between my 7-8 devices/browsers
    • Rewrite of the Dice Roller and Library
    • Data entry interface for mods, sizes, books, weapons, races, skills, hindrances, edges - all the good stuff now that the back-end mongodb server data seems to have stabilized.
    What's still on the agenda:
    • Extras database (and discord integration)
    • Dice Roller (discord integration)
    • Character Generator
    What won't be in the new tools:
    • I'm likely dropping the raise trainer. It was a fun add-on, but I'm not seeing anyone use it.