Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When does a Summoned creature act; specifically in the first round?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Deskepticon
    commented on 's reply
    pawsplay The Official Answer seems to disagree with your interpretation.

  • pawsplay
    commented on 's reply
    Weird but I guess that's the official word.

  • pawsplay
    commented on 's reply
    The Action card doesn't occur. It determines when they act. The thing where the Action Card causes them to have a turn has already occurred.

  • Jim1701
    replied
    Originally posted by steveculshaw View Post

    Ah ha ... ta

    My search-fu is weak
    No worries. It is your friend but it's one of those annoying friends that's always making things way more difficult than it needs to be.

    Leave a comment:


  • Deskepticon
    replied
    Official Answer aside, if you're seeking more verisimilitude or "logic," I'd rule that being summoned equates to teleportation in the sense that it replaces the being's normal movement rate. In other words, a summoned creature can take actions on the turn it is summoned, but couldn't move until next round.

    A "long summons," where the creature shows up on the caster's folowing turn, is probably worth a Limitation.

    Leave a comment:


  • Psitraveller
    commented on 's reply
    The creatures have not acted, they got summoned, no mention is made of a multi action penalty for them to act.

    The sequential gang up bonus is an interesting take, parsing out a single action card in order of summoning. RAW might have all the creatures materializing as each power is cast, then the Summoner would have his creations act, which might make them act as a group. It's an odd situation. The caster might summon one creature, have it attack, move (both the summoned critter and or the caster), then cast more Powers as a multi action. That would obviously create a sequential order of attacks

    On the other hand, if the caster casts 3 Powers and places all the creatures on the board and then uses their actions would they get a gang up bonus then? It is still that players turn, on his action card. And now there are multiple creatures around the target.

  • steveculshaw
    replied
    Originally posted by Jim1701 View Post
    Advanced Search is your friend.
    Ah ha ... ta

    My search-fu is weak

    Leave a comment:


  • SeeleyOne
    commented on 's reply
    But their Action card is not over....

  • Jim1701
    replied
    Advanced Search is your friend.
    When you summon an ally using this power can the ally act immediately on the summoner's turn in the same round?

    Leave a comment:


  • steelbrok
    commented on 's reply
    I'd say yes but using the logic above, they attack as they are summoned so goon 1 no gang up, goon 2 gets +1 and the third gets +2

    That said, does BEING summoned count as an action (so the summoned creature could act but at -2 for a single action and -4 if taking 2)

  • Psitraveller
    replied


    Don't forget, a caster can perform up to 3 actions on their action card, including casting 3 Powers.(pg 103 and 151 of the core book), as a multi action. So if a caster can cast multiple Powers, the summoned creatures could be attacking while the caster performs their next planned action in their multi action activity.

    We've always had the summoned creature materialize wherever the caster wants it to appear (within range) and then immediately act, so in the round it is summoned. You could argue that the action card of the caster is when the power is cast and then the action of the summoned creature is 'after' that, but everything the caster does on their action card, including multi actions all count as acting on their action card. There is a penalty for doing this, but multi actions show you can do a lot on your action card, so being summoned and acting on that action card is not that much of a stretch when you look at it like that.

    But to throw another question onto the summoned creature list. Suppose a caster summoned 3 creatures by casting 3 Powers on their action card. All the summoned creatures attack. Do they get gang up bonuses?

    Leave a comment:


  • pawsplay
    replied
    Since the summoner has already acted on their card, I don't think the summoned being would.

    Leave a comment:


  • SeeleyOne
    replied
    Huh, we have always had it act in the round it is summoned. The description says it acts on the creator's Action card, and nothing is mentioned about delayed action until the following round. Maybe a delay could be a Limitation?

    Leave a comment:


  • When does a Summoned creature act; specifically in the first round?

    When does a Summoned creature act; specifically in the first round?

    Can the summoned ally/animal/monster/undead act in the round that the caster summons it?
Working...
X