House Rule Question, Initiative

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• House Rule Question, Initiative

So I'm relatively new to Savage Worlds. Picked up the system around the time of the first Rifts kickstarter. Have run a few times, and I'm trying to get my group together to do virtual sessions. The issue is with the initiative system in the rules as written, using playing cards. This is awkward enough at the tabletop, but gets oh so much worse online through Discord or other chat program. Has anyone come up with a decent alternate system?

It works great in person and on online gaming platforms such as Fantasy Grounds and Roll20.

That said, I can see why you would want to do something else for Discord or if you do not have access to a proper online gaming tool. I would recommend rolling 2d10, where two 10s are a Joker. Otherwise you go down in order. I am not sure what to do with a tie, though. Either concede or try to interrupt each other?

Comment

• Deskepticon
      Deskepticon commented
      Editing a comment
      Ties can go to character with highest Agility, then Athletics (similar to how suits are tiered). After that, flip a coin or just count them as simultaneous.

If you're rolling dice, you could add a separate d4 roll for "suit", which would help break up ties. But making a 20 a Joker means a "Joker" will come up about 1/4 times as often than with a real deck, which short-changes PC's with Joker-based Edges. Don't know how to fix that. Also, 2d10 has a "bell-shaped" distribution, so you'll get 9-13 way more often than other numbers, making for way more ties than usual.

Since the hosting web site can probably roll any die, you might consider a d14 and a d4 (separately) to simulate card number and suit. A 14 and a 3 or 4 being a Joker would give about the right chances of getting a Joker in a deck.
    Savage Summaries-RAW, with added info from Clint:Combat Actions,Cover,Healing,Using Powers,Grappling,Chases (all SWD)