Interruptions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interruptions

Hi everyone, pleased to meet you. I am new to SWADE and I am wondering if you could help me.

If you put yourself on HOLD and try to Interrupt another character's action. Does that mean that you;

1. Can interrupt an enemy action by making an action of your own; attack, making a test, support an ally and so on - and that single action is your turn for the round?
    2. Can you make an action or move to protect an ally? For example taking the hit by moving between the attacker and it's target, or try to disarm, grapple or break the enemy's weapon?

Sorry if these questions are moronic. I read the rules, but they seemed a little bit unclear to my feeble mind.
    Love the rest of the system though =)

Originally posted by LordInquisitorMithras View Post
    Hi everyone, pleased to meet you. I am new to SWADE and I am wondering if you could help me.
    Welcome to the forums, and Welcome to Savage Worlds too!

If you put yourself on HOLD and try to Interrupt another character's action. Does that mean that you;

1. Can interrupt an enemy action by making an action of your own; attack, making a test, support an ally and so on - and that single action is your turn for the round?
    2. Can you make an action or move to protect an ally? For example taking the hit by moving between the attacker and it's target, or try to disarm, grapple or break the enemy's weapon?
    First things first, a character can only go On Hold once their Action Card comes up. Essentially, they are "holding" their turn until a later time.

To Interrupt someone, the other character---usually an opponent---must have already started their turn (i.e., they have declared their actions and intent). You then come "off" Hold by declaring YOUR actions and intent. Both characters make an opposing Athletics roll and the winner takes their turn first.

So the answer to #1 is Yes.