Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

a box of grenades or mines exploding... How do you convert the damage and the burst ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• a box of grenades or mines exploding... How do you convert the damage and the burst ?

HI,

I'm new at Savage Worlds deluxe editon, I've played a while and I think it is a great game. Now I'm preparing a war session

Now my question is about grenades, mines etc.. exploding stuff all together into a big burst of flame...

If I have a box of 20 mines sitting there and a grenade explodes into it. How do I deal the damage of that exploding stuff ?

I'm sure I do not add all the 4d6 damage of all the 20 mines and I'm pretty sure the full explosion is bigger than a medium burst.

So... do I add extra dice damage like 5d6 or 6d6 for the whole instead of the 4d6 per mine into a large burst ?

How many extra dice do you think I should add logicly to increase damage .... etc...

I would like your opinion on this please.

Sorry for some English mistakes.... I'm french canadian so.... it's my second language. lol

Well...I think it depends on what kind of war and what technology is available. The "modern" landmine (at least in the USA) can trace its roots back to the Battle of Yorktown in 1862; during the American Civil War. Hand grenades, in some shape or form, are certainly older. But, in general, a grenade wouldn't set off a landmine. Mines operate by using pressure plates to arm the device, and a grenade might not do the job. It might very well damage the casing without setting off the charge inside. And since World War One, Great Brittain, Russia, and the USA have all either manufactured or experimented with poison gas mines. Depending on when your game takes place, a mine set off by a grenade might cause an AoE hazard effect instead of another damage roll.