Big changes between Deluxe and SWADE?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big changes between Deluxe and SWADE?

Hi all. I'm sure this has been asked before, but are there any major changes between DE and SWADE? I'm getting ready to run Deadlands: Reloaded for the first time and was wondering if it's worth updating to the most recent edition of SW before starting. I have no real experience with SW at all at this point and am coming from Deadlands Classic. I've read through the Deluxe Edition a few times so I have a decent understanding of the rules already. Thanks in advance

There are so many changes in SWADE that are better and more streamlined. SWADE is the epitome of Fast Furious Fun to me.

Casters are better. For example, you recharge 5 power points per hour now instead of 1 per hour. You now can regain 5 power points by spending a Benny. Taking the New Powers edge gives you two powers instead on only one, so casters can get better quicker.

There are more things to do with Bennies like rerolling damage.

Multi actions are better. Before you were limited to where you couldn't do the same type of action in a turn. Now it doesn't matter. You can do three fighting actions in a turn if you are fine with the multi-action penalty.

Supports and Tests are amazing and replace Tricks and whatever the other rule was. It allows your PCs to use any skill in a creative way in combat.
    ​​​​

Comment

• Zevon45
      Zevon45 commented
      Editing a comment
      Is it still easily compatible with older SW? or would there be a lot of conversions to make Deadlands run smooth in SWADE

Older settings are quite playable in Adventure Edition. There are a few hiccups, but mostly it's really smooth to make the change.

They haven't released a conversion document specifically for Deadlands yet, probably because they're writing a new Adventure Edition compatible version (set post 1882).