Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just getting into SWADE, are the Companion books still compatible?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just getting into SWADE, are the Companion books still compatible?

Hello! I've been trying to find the answer to this for a little while now. I apologies if this has been asked to death as well. I'm very new to Savage worlds and I see I've discovered it at the release of a new edition (SWADE). How much of the companion guides relies on the old version of Savage worlds? Are they still worth purchasing if i plan to use the Adventure Edition of SW? I understand the Pinnacle worlds have free conversion pdf's to update their respective setting. I just want a straight clear cut answer on if you can use the Companion books (reliably) with the new Adventure Edition. Example: From what I've tried to find, the Supper Powers Companion is on its 2cd edition. Is this edition easily used with SWADE? If not is there a new edition in the works?

Thank you if you take the time to help me figure this all out. I'm sure the companion books still hold a great wealth of creative info. I just wanted to know what i was getting into before i dropped all my dosh on them.

Welcome to the forums, and Welcome to Savage Worlds!

The Companion books are generally compatable with Adventure Edition. Some tweeks need to be made, but for the most part they are minor.

As much as I'd like to put money into PEG's pocket, I'd caution you against making a purchase you won't get much use out of. If there is a specific game mechanic you're looking for, you can always ask for advice on the forum. Folks here are extremely helpful, some with over a decade of experience.

But if you plan on running an extended campaign in a particular genre, a Companion might be a good investment. Again, the forum is here for you to ask those pesky conversion questions that will inevitably crop up.