Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Growth and Wounds in SWADE

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Jounichi
    commented on 's reply
    I don't see why it wouldn't be assumed. The rules on size and scale are pretty clear. And if a modifier were needed to add such an ability, then forcibly reducing an enemy's size wouldn't strip them of any additional wounds, either.

    That said, part of the risk/reward comes from planning ahead. Like making sure you have a means to quickly heal someone in an emergency should a buffed target drop in size with too many wounds on them.

  • Deskepticon
    commented on 's reply
    Jounichi True. But balance can also come from spending more PP as well, in which case the character would be "buying off" the risk aspect.

    I'm curious to see what the official ruling is on this. Perhaps "Extra Wound" could be offered as a power modifier if it's not a given thing.

  • Jounichi
    commented on 's reply
    Which is more or less the terms along I was thinking along. I liken it to how the 3.X barbarian could drop once their rage ends because the lost con bonus drops their hit points back down to zero or below. Currently, I see Growth as an interesting tactical risk/reward if it's taken too high. And I think that's good for balance.

  • Deskepticon
    commented on 's reply
    Jounichi For what it's worth, I understand what you mean. I was viewing the rule as "front-loading" the extra wounds to prevent instant Incap situations, which ended up creating an undesired effect (in retrospect).

    To be honest, I'm not sure how I feel about growth added an extra wound level, or if that is an intended result, but if someone does wish to go that route I don't think it's necessarily fair to have a situation where a character can immediately become Incapacitated when the power ends.

    But I do like the revision better.
    It drops the wounds off the back end so any penalties remain in place, but it also prevents instant Incap too.
    ...but who knows! Maybe instant-Incap can be a fun tactical rule as well. Kinda like how other systems have the "tireless berserker", where they ignore damage/fatigue while raging but fall unconscious when the rage stops. Could be a fair tradeoff for playing through an encounter as a 30-foot tall juggernaut.

  • Deskepticon
    replied
    Originally posted by Jounichi View Post

    For consistency's sake, what you're effectively arguing is that any additional wounds, regardless of source, are tacked on at the front end and not the back end. Following that train of thought, Tough as Nails means you get to ignore the first wound that hits you, rather than suffer a -3 penalty at both your third and fourth wounds. So you're not just getting an extra wound. You're also getting Nerves of Steel for free.

    I just don't see how that's defensible.
    I don't think I implied that you get to ignore wound modifiers. You may have read too much into it. However, I think I will amend the proposal to say that when you shrink back, you can't become worse off than you were when you were Large. So if you were at 1 wound, you remain at 1 wound. If you were at 4 wounds, you cannot instantly become Incapped, but instead revert to 3 wounds.

    This keeps all your same wound penalties without the "free heal" that my original proposal unwittingly provided.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jounichi
    commented on 's reply
    Like I said, for consistency's sake. Maybe we're reading this differently, but the way I see it people are advocating for a special rule which flies in the face of how another "extra wound" rule is applied.

  • ValhallaGH
    replied
    Originally posted by Jounichi View Post
    For consistency's sake, what you're effectively arguing is that any additional wounds, regardless of source, are tacked on at the front end and not the back end.
    No, he's saying that you heal your worst wound when you end Growth. He's giving a healing effect for free.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jounichi
    replied
    Originally posted by Deskepticon View Post
    If you do provide the additional wound level with the power, I think the thing to consider is the intent of the extra wound. It's there because damage effectively scales down for larger creatures: what might be a serious gash for a human would amount to a mere scratch for a giant.

    So if a magically grown character receives a "scratch," then shrinks back down to normal, should the wound become a "gash" or remain a scratch?

    I'd vote in the latter. A Grown character with 3-out-of-4 wounds that shrinks back to normal will shave a wound level off both their current and max wounds, ending up with 2-out-of-3 wounds. In other words, they don't get closer to death by shrinking... the wounds "shrink" too. It's all relative.
    For consistency's sake, what you're effectively arguing is that any additional wounds, regardless of source, are tacked on at the front end and not the back end. Following that train of thought, Tough as Nails means you get to ignore the first wound that hits you, rather than suffer a -3 penalty at both your third and fourth wounds. So you're not just getting an extra wound. You're also getting Nerves of Steel for free.

    I just don't see how that's defensible.

    Leave a comment:


  • JackMann
    replied
    Yeah. Having them suddenly be bleeding out feels a bit like "gotcha" DMing, and it doesn't really follow the fiction.

    Leave a comment:


  • Deskepticon
    replied
    If you do provide the additional wound level with the power, I think the thing to consider is the intent of the extra wound. It's there because damage effectively scales down for larger creatures: what might be a serious gash for a human would amount to a mere scratch for a giant.

    So if a magically grown character receives a "scratch," then shrinks back down to normal, should the wound become a "gash" or remain a scratch?

    I'd vote in the latter. A Grown character with 3-out-of-4 wounds that shrinks back to normal will shave a wound level off both their current and max wounds, ending up with 2-out-of-3 wounds. In other words, they don't get closer to death by shrinking... the wounds "shrink" too. It's all relative.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jounichi
    replied
    As I understand it, the extra wounds are just that. The first wound is always at -1, and anything past the third is still at -3. If shrinking back down would risk incapacitation, then they're already seriously wounded.

    Leave a comment:


  • ValhallaGH
    replied
    I wouldn't provide the bonus wound. "Magic can only do so much, and a normal person ... stretched to giant sized will always be a bit less substantial than a true giant."
    Obviously that would change in some settings, but I'd keep that interpretation as much as possible.

    If I had to grant the extra wound, I'd take a cue from the Tough As Nails edge - this is an advantage, not a weakness, and the extra Wound gets absorbed by the magic when returning to normal.

    Leave a comment:


  • Mogge
    replied
    I wouldn´t rule it to go away but rather they keeps it. Maybe they realise they can´t go back to normal size because they would be incapacitated then. Could be interesting för them to keep maintaining that power until at least healed to much that they won´t be incapacitated when returning to normal size.

    Leave a comment:


  • DoctorBoson
    started a topic Growth and Wounds in SWADE

    Growth and Wounds in SWADE

    So Large and greater creatures have additional wounds based on their Size. How does this interact with the growth power? If a caster spends 8 PP to grow to Size 4, shouldn't she gain an extra Wound? If so, what happens when she returns to her regular Size? If she sustained wounds while grown, does one go away when she shrinks, or does she retain it?

    I meant to put this into the Feedback forum but didn't get the opportunity to and was hoping someone else would have an idea of what the intent here might have been.
Working...
X