Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[50 Fathoms] Really Dirty Fighter

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • [50 Fathoms] Really Dirty Fighter

    Hello,

    the Really Dirty Fighter edge led to a few questions today. It says:

    The knave is extremely skilled in tactical deceit. By describing the test and spending a Benny, he may automatically get the drop on any single opponent.

    The SWD version used "trick" instead of "test" but is otherwise the same.
    This led to the following questions:
    1. Is it enough to describe the test and spend a Benny or does the character actually have toroll a test to succeed?
      I assume it is the latter.
    2. If you have to roll a test, does the test have to use one of the skills boosted by Dirty Fighter or can it be any skill?
      In SWD you only could do tricks with any attribute, so I assume you can use any skill.
    3. If you have to roll a test, does the test also apply Vulnerable/Distracted or does it only apply The Drop?
    4. If you don't have to roll a test, is it still an action (-> MAP applies)?
      I think if it's not a proper test, it doesn't take up an action.
    Cheers and thanks,

    FrodoB

  • #2
    Originally posted by FrodoB View Post
    the Really Dirty Fighter edge led to a few questions today. It says:

    The knave is extremely skilled in tactical deceit. By describing the test and spending a Benny, he may automatically get the drop on any single opponent.

    The SWD version used "trick" instead of "test" but is otherwise the same.
    This led to the following questions:
    Is it enough to describe the test and spend a Benny or does the character actually have toroll a test to succeed?
    I assume it is the latter.
    The character does have to roll a Test as per the base Dirty Fighter Edge.

    Originally posted by FrodoB View Post
    If you have to roll a test, does the test have to use one of the skills boosted by Dirty Fighter or can it be any skill?
    It has to be one of the Skills listed for Dirty Fighter in the Conversion document. That's restriction is part of the Edge and Really Dirty Fighter is an expansion of the base Edge.

    Originally posted by FrodoB View Post
    If you have to roll a test, does the test also apply Vulnerable/Distracted or does it only apply The Drop?
    The Test result occurs separately. The character simply also gets The Drop if they spend a Benny for it when making a Dirty Fighter Test. Note though that Vulnerable and the Drop do not stack per the core rules.

    So with a raise, the target could be Distracted or Vulnerable (perhaps for allies), Shaken, and the character has The Drop on them.

    Hope that helps.

    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X