Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Gang up clarification

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Gang up clarification

    Ganging up allows attackers to flank, exploit openings, and generally harass a foe. Each additional adjacent foe (who isn’t Stunned) adds +1 to all the attackers’ Fighting rolls, up to a maximum of +4. If three goblins attack a single hero, for example, each of the three goblins add+2 to their Fighting rolls. Each ally adjacent to the defender cancels out one point of Gang Up bonus from an attacker adjacent to both.

    I am unclear with the wording of gang up. In a fight we have 1 villager and 3 goblins.
    1. Does a goblin with 2 other goblins adjacent to him but not the villager get gang up?
    2. Now all three goblins are adjacent to the villager and are in a line. The middle goblin is adjacent to 2 other goblins so he gets +2. But the goblins on the end are only adjacent to 1 goblin each so do they only get +1?
    3. Now two more villagers join the fight but they are behind the first village but still adjacent to the defender (first villager). Do they cancel the goblins gang up now?
    Side note: wish there was a way to add a battle map to show what I am trying to describe.


  • #2
    Originally posted by Technsospawn View Post
    Ganging up allows attackers to flank, exploit openings, and generally harass a foe. Each additional adjacent foe (who isn’t Stunned) adds +1 to all the attackers’ Fighting rolls, up to a maximum of +4. If three goblins attack a single hero, for example, each of the three goblins add+2 to their Fighting rolls. Each ally adjacent to the defender cancels out one point of Gang Up bonus from an attacker adjacent to both.

    I am unclear with the wording of gang up. In a fight we have 1 villager and 3 goblins.
    1. Does a goblin with 2 other goblins adjacent to him but not the villager get gang up?
    2. Now all three goblins are adjacent to the villager and are in a line. The middle goblin is adjacent to 2 other goblins so he gets +2. But the goblins on the end are only adjacent to 1 goblin each so do they only get +1?
    3. Now two more villagers join the fight but they are behind the first village but still adjacent to the defender (first villager). Do they cancel the goblins gang up now?
    The attacking allies need to be adjacent to the target not to the attacker. The point is they threaten the target too.

    And the defending allies need to adjacent to the attackers not the target. So they counter the threat of the attacker.

    Like in the example of troops in opposing lines facing each other, there's no Gang Up as each side negates the other.

    So...

    1. No one else is adjacent to the villager except the attacking goblin. No Gang Up.
    2. Three goblins adjacent to the villager, so all get +2 from Gang Up.
    3. The other villagers are not adjacent to the attackers, so they don't affect the Gang Up on the lone villager (they seem to be hiding behind).

    Hope that helps.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X