Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SPC3 Critical Failure and Absorption

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • SPC3 Critical Failure and Absorption

    Absorption gives you a free soak roll with Focus.

    If you critically fail this soak roll, can you spend a benny to soak normally using vigor?

    Critical Failures don't allow rerolls generally. Both are soak rolls, but using different traits, so the rules are vague on if the vigor one constitutes a reroll.

  • #2
    Originally posted by Ghilz View Post
    Absorption gives you a free soak roll with Focus.

    If you critically fail this soak roll, can you spend a benny to soak normally using vigor?

    Critical Failures don't allow rerolls generally. Both are soak rolls, but using different traits, so the rules are vague on if the vigor one constitutes a reroll.
    Per Soak Rolls in the core rules <italics added>, "Characters can’t Soak more than once per attack, but may spend Bennies as usual to reroll the Vigor check if they aren’t satisfied with the results."

    Absorption counts as a Soak Roll, so while Bennies could be spent to reroll (usually), it counts as the one Soak allowed per attack.

    Which does mean on a critical failure, the attempt fails, and it can't be rerolled or attempted a second time.

    Hope that helps and clarifies.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X