Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does disallowing yourself from using a Modifier count as a Limitation?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Does disallowing yourself from using a Modifier count as a Limitation?

    For Modifiers, you can choose when to activate them on a per-casting basis.

    For Limitations, you decide on them when you pick the power.

    One of the types of Limitation is Aspect. Does a Modifier count as an Aspect? Can you decide "The Additional Recipients Modifier is an aspect that I'm limiting myself by never using" and get a 1 point discount on the base spell?

  • #2
    Originally posted by Red the Second Hand View Post
    For Modifiers, you can choose when to activate them on a per-casting basis.

    For Limitations, you decide on them when you pick the power.

    One of the types of Limitation is Aspect. Does a Modifier count as an Aspect? Can you decide "The Additional Recipients Modifier is an aspect that I'm limiting myself by never using" and get a 1 point discount on the base spell?
    Nope, Modifiers are not Aspects. The Aspect Limitation applies if "The character can only access one aspect of a power (that has more than one choice), such as sloth/speed or boost/lower Trait."

    An aspect is optional within the base cost of the power (and is pretty much designated as X/Y in the power name). A Modifier is optional at an increased cost, so by never using it, the character is already saving the PPs they would have spent to use it.

    Hope that helps.

    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X