Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Spending bennie to unshake after crit failure on Recovery roll?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Spending bennie to unshake after crit failure on Recovery roll?

    If a character starts its turn shaken and rolls a crit failure to unshake can they then spend a bennie to automatically unshake? Normally you can't reroll a crit failure but the rules to unshake by spending a bennie aren't a reroll, so this seems like an exception to being able to avoid a crit failure.

  • #2
    Originally posted by Cendragon View Post
    If a character starts its turn shaken and rolls a crit failure to unshake can they then spend a bennie to automatically unshake? Normally you can't reroll a crit failure but the rules to unshake by spending a bennie aren't a reroll, so this seems like an exception to being able to avoid a crit failure.
    Unless the GM rules otherwise, it could be done, but it doesn't avoid the critical failure. It just avoids the basic failure.

    Per Critical Failures <italics added>, "The attempt automatically fails and something bad happens—a weapon is dropped or gets stuck, the attack hits a friend, the vehicle crashes, spells misfire (see Backlash, page 151), and so on."

    So, something bad still happens due to the critical failure. If the player spends a Benny, their character simply isn't Shaken in addition to the bad thing.

    Hope that helps.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X