Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Flamethrower and Catching Fire

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Flamethrower and Catching Fire

    So, most flamethrowers work by spraying an ignited flammable liquid right? That's even mentioned in the book;
    Originally posted by SWADE,78
    Flamethrowers propel incendiary liquid or gas to incinerate their targets.
    The whole idea of flamethrowers is they coat their targets in said liquid so they STAY on fire, right? So then based on the fire rules;

    Originally posted by SWADE, 127
    If a flammable target is hit by fire (GM’s call), roll 1d6. On a 6, the target catches fire and immediately takes the damage listed below. Very flammable targets catch fire on a 4–6. Volatile targets, such as a person soaked in gasoline, catch fire on a 2–6.
    So when hit by a flamethrower should a target count as flammable as usual, or volatile? Or is that entire process just up to GM discretion?

  • #2
    Originally posted by Faeriedae View Post
    So, most flamethrowers work by spraying an ignited flammable liquid right? That's even mentioned in the book;
    Originally posted by SWADE,78
    Flamethrowers propel incendiary liquid or gas to incinerate their targets.
    The whole idea of flamethrowers is they coat their targets in said liquid so they STAY on fire, right?
    Well, there is the "incendiary liquid or gas" to take into account. One specific example being flamethrowers in Deadlands which use ghost rock vapor as fuel. They create a gout of flame but don't "coat their targets."

    Originally posted by Faeriedae View Post
    So then based on the fire rules;

    Originally posted by SWADE, 127
    If a flammable target is hit by fire (GM’s call), roll 1d6. On a 6, the target catches fire and immediately takes the damage listed below. Very flammable targets catch fire on a 4–6. Volatile targets, such as a person soaked in gasoline, catch fire on a 2–6.
    So when hit by a flamethrower should a target count as flammable as usual, or volatile? Or is that entire process just up to GM discretion?
    It's really up to the GM based on the setting and type of fuel. As noted above not all flamethrowers use the same fuel or have the same effect. Even some liquids burn so quickly and (comparatively) cleanly, they could burn a target but not "soak" one.

    Hope that helps.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X