Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Quick Encounters: Does a Success w/ a Raise Count as 1 or 2 Successes?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Quick Encounters: Does a Success w/ a Raise Count as 1 or 2 Successes?

    In both Adventure Edition and Pathfinder:

    "In a more dynamic situation such as combat, assume the group "wins" if there are at least as many total successes (one for each success and raise) as there are player characters."

    I've always understood this as meaning "one for each success, including successes with raises." So either you need everyone to succeed, or you need the most-skilled characters to take multi-action rolls to cover for less-skilled companions. As a result it makes these harder on larger parties.

    Other players online interpret this as "one for each success, and one more for each raise." So it's a lot more generous and doesn't require multi-action.

  • #2
    Originally posted by MarjaE View Post
    In both Adventure Edition and Pathfinder:

    "In a more dynamic situation such as combat, assume the group "wins" if there are at least as many total successes (one for each success and raise) as there are player characters."

    I've always understood this as meaning "one for each success, including successes with raises." So either you need everyone to succeed, or you need the most-skilled characters to take multi-action rolls to cover for less-skilled companions. As a result it makes these harder on larger parties.

    Other players online interpret this as "one for each success, and one more for each raise." So it's a lot more generous and doesn't require multi-action.
    The players are correct. Per Success & Failure, it's "as many total successes (one for each success and raise)."

    The example clarifies, "Red manages a single success, but since there are two player characters and the rules say they need at least as many successes as there are characters, they fail."

    Since Gabe provided a Support roll, and "Support rolls don’t count as successes," succeeding wouldn't even be possible in that situation unless each success and each raise counted towards total successes.

    In the follow-up Quick Encounter, it also shows how it would work with success as Gabe rolls Performance first, and "The GM tells him to use Performance and he rolls a 21! Both characters are successful, so the ancient manuscript is secured!" Since Gabe has already achieved more total successes (five total, one for the success and four more for raises) than the number of player, the Quick Encounter is immediately resolved.

    I would add since Quick Encounters are resolved with a single roll per player, the key to the difficult Quick Encounter falls under Modifiers, "Very difficult encounters, such as powerful foes (relative to the party), faster prey, or extreme conditions inflict a −1 to −4 penalty."

    Hope that helps!


    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X