Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Healing (magical) and it's affect on Shaken condition

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Healing (magical) and it's affect on Shaken condition

    Mage has taken three (3) wounds, and is shaken.
    Ox uses the Healing power (3pp) on Mage, and rolls a 5 (success!).
    • GM ruled that this would bring Mage to two (2) wounds, and that they would remain Shaken. Reasoning: If the healing had removed all wounds, it would remove the Shaken condition. If "Healing" power did not remove all wounds, the character remains Shaken until they make a successful Spirit/Unshake roll, spend a benny to clear their shaken condition, or the Shaken condition is removed by the "Relief" power.
    • Player argued that the Shaken condition would be removed because the healing was magical. Reasoning: If Mage had been Incapacitated, and then healed, he would have been brought to 2 wounds and the incapacitated state would be removed (per this official answer: https://www.pegforum.com/forum/savag...ated-by-wounds). It only stands to reason that magical healing would remove shaken condition, too. (Players are so creative in their rule interpretation, right?)
    Help! Two clarifications requested:
    • Does "Healing" remove Shaken condition, even if the character still has wounds after the healing is applied?
    • Since the player brought up incapacitation, can I get a twofer on rule clarifications? If an incapacitated character is healed (magically), they are brought to 2 wounds, the incapacitated condition is removed. Is that character shaken with 2 wounds?

  • #2
    Originally posted by JPSeabury View Post
    Help! Two clarifications requested:
    Does "Healing" remove Shaken condition, even if the character still has wounds after the healing is applied?
    Healing never removes the Shaken condition (neither the power nor the skill). The power does what's stated in the description, "Healing removes Wounds less than an hour old." [It's a specific effect of Incapacitation from damage that healing at least one Wound removes that condition. SW, page 96]

    I'm afraid there's nothing about removing the Shaken condition in the description at all, nor in any rule regarding the condition.

    Removing the Shaken condition is instead one possible use of the Relief power which "...can also remove a character’s Shaken status, and removes Stunned status with a raise."

    Originally posted by JPSeabury View Post
    Since the player brought up incapacitation, can I get a twofer on rule clarifications? If an incapacitated character is healed (magically), they are brought to 2 wounds, the incapacitated condition is removed. Is that character shaken with 2 wounds?
    Not typically for a Wild Card, nope (unless some other effect might cause them to be by GM call or a specific mechanic).

    Hope that helps!
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X