question on combat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question on combat

So my group plays a few games. We run an OSR BECMI D&D game, and then a Deadlands game in Rotation. So while I've been on this forum a while, I'm not very experienced with running combat. I had to get that out of the way so I could ask a really newb question. Do ranged powers work like ranged weapons in combat?

My huckster is attacking a zombie with a burst of power. On my turn, I roll attack. I use my Spellcasting of D10 + D6 Is this against a static target number of 4, or is it against the zombie's spirit or some other target number? And when resolving damage do I roll a D10 + a D6 (wild die) against a target number of my opponent's toughness? Do I just roll the D10? Lastly applying damage and counting raises if successful.

I know combat is simple in this game as opposed to Pathfinder. But I feel like I'm missing something. Combat in our group is somewhat clunky at times. And this is mostly my fault. Few of my players know the game very well. So while I will own most of the clunkiness, they contribute to it by not knowing the game yet. My next game session is in October, so I have some time to smooth this out.

Thanks in advance guys!

Ack.

Originally posted by ack View Post
    So my group plays a few games. We run an OSR BECMI D&D game, and then a Deadlands game in Rotation. So while I've been on this forum a while, I'm not very experienced with running combat. I had to get that out of the way so I could ask a really newb question. Do ranged powers work like ranged weapons in combat?

[I]My huckster is attacking a zombie with a burst of power. On my turn, I roll attack. I use my Spellcasting of D10 + D6 Is this against a static target number of 4, or is it against the zombie's spirit or some other target number?
    By "burst of power," I'm going to presume the literal Burst power to start out with.