Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stacking Entangled and Bound

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Stacking Entangled and Bound

    Two related questions;

    1) Can separate uses of entangled and bound stack?
    Example; Stone Lord is in a pitched battle against Super Guy. So he decides to use his Encase in Stone (entangle) power on Super Guy. The power works with a raise, on the following turn Super Guy fails his Strength check so is still Bound! Stone Lord sees this as his opportunity to escape with the cash and uses Encase in Stone again, scoring another raise.
    Does Super Guy need to break free of both Bound effects separately, or does he only need to break free one one of them?

    2) The same question but imagine Super Guy is being help by four thugs, each of whom has him Grappled. Would he roll only once to break free of all four, or roll four times, once for each?



  • #2
    Originally posted by Ndreare View Post
    Two related questions;

    1) Can separate uses of entangled and bound stack?
    Example; Stone Lord is in a pitched battle against Super Guy. So he decides to use his Encase in Stone (entangle) power on Super Guy. The power works with a raise, on the following turn Super Guy fails his Strength check so is still Bound! Stone Lord sees this as his opportunity to escape with the cash and uses Encase in Stone again, scoring another raise.
    Does Super Guy need to break free of both Bound effects separately, or does he only need to break free one one of them?
    Bound and Entangled are conditions, and a character is either under them or not. A GM might allow a second use to count as Strong (increasing the Hardness and the penalty to break free), but the target is already Bound and unable to move, they can't be less able to move.

    Originally posted by Ndreare View Post
    2) The same question but imagine Super Guy is being help by four thugs, each of whom has him Grappled. Would he roll only once to break free of all four, or roll four times, once for each?
    Okay, let's start with four thugs each have him grappled. Each? I could see four thugs working together to grapple him (using Group rolls, Support, etc), but each individually having him fully grappled strains credulity. I envision four thugs, each a size category larger than the next like the Russian nesting dolls of Grappling.

    So, realistically and by the rules, the one character is grappled by the four others working together. So it would be one roll to escape with the thugs able to again use Group rolls and/or Support to resist Super Guy breaking free.

    Hope that helps!
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X