Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Push: Running bonus offset by Running penalty?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Push: Running bonus offset by Running penalty?

    On page 104, it reads Running: If the attacker ran at least 2″ (four yards) before the Push, he adds +2 to his total.

    I'm assuming that the total is the final result of the attacker's Strength roll.

    Running, however, gives a -2 penalty to all other actions (p 92).

    So do these then not cancel each other out, thus rendering no actual benefit to running before the Push attempt?

    Thanks for any clarity.


  • #2
    Originally posted by Padre Moto View Post
    On page 104, it reads Running: If the attacker ran at least 2″ (four yards) before the Push, he adds +2 to his total.

    I'm assuming that the total is the final result of the attacker's Strength roll.

    Running, however, gives a -2 penalty to all other actions (p 92).

    So do these then not cancel each other out, thus rendering no actual benefit to running before the Push attempt?
    Reverse it. Instead of no benefit, Running effectively imposes no penalty to perform a Push. Meaning if the target is 2" or more away from the character, they can perform a Push and Run without worrying about the –2 penalty from Running. Since using a Push is primarily about controlling positioning, the ability to run "for free" grants more flexibility in altering the character's position as well as the target's.

    Hope that helps and clarifies.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X