Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Withdrawing and engaging in melee

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • PEGRon
    replied
    Originally posted by Jensolovski View Post
    I want to run past an NPC in a corridor. I have no intention of engaging him or hitting him - I have the higher Initiative card and he is not on hold. Will the NPC get a free attack as I run past him within his reach?
    The NPC can attack. You enter melee when you hit a square they can affect.

    Two thugs have attacked me and are now both adjacent to me. On my action, I take a swing at one of the thugs and move off to the side so I'm only adjacent to one of my attackers. Will the second thug get a free attack as I move away from him?
    Yep.

    How about Reach? Say the second thug above has a spear and I finish my move within his Reach?
    Yep.

    Two characters are standing adjacent arguing. So far no blows have been traded. One of the characters decide to leave - does the second now get a Free attack if he wishes to escalate things?
    Only if you're in combat rounds, really. Of course the details could lead the GM to begin a combat and adjudicate otherwise.

    Leave a comment:


  • Jensolovski
    started a topic Withdrawing and engaging in melee

    Withdrawing and engaging in melee

    The Withdrawing from Melee and Free Attacks have me puzzled (again). I've searched the archives and not quite come up with an answer to my question. Apologies if I've missed a topic and I'm just rephrasing an already answered question.

    In this topic: https://www.pegforum.com/forum/savag...unityt-attacks PEGRon explains that Withdrawing requires Intent and here: https://www.pegforum.com/forum/savag...-meant-to-work PEGClint points out, that extraction is not about the endpoint. So far, so good. However, when are characters engaged in melee?

    A few cases:
    I want to run past an NPC in a corridor. I have no intention of engaging him or hitting him - I have the higher Initiative card and he is not on hold. Will the NPC get a free attack as I run past him within his reach?
    Two thugs have attacked me and are now both adjacent to me. On my action, I take a swing at one of the thugs and move off to the side so I'm only adjacent to one of my attackers. Will the second thug get a free attack as I move away from him?
    How about Reach? Say the second thug above has a spear and I finish my move within his Reach?
    Two characters are standing adjacent arguing. So far no blows have been traded. One of the characters decide to leave - does the second now get a Free attack if he wishes to escalate things?

    Looking forward to your answers :-)

Working...
X