Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Positive Racial Ability, Powers

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Positive Racial Ability, Powers

    Clarification is needed on how this ability is supposed to function. Page 19 of SWADE says:

    Originally posted by Positive Racial Abilities
    Power (U): The race has an innate ability that functions like a power (see page 147). For 2 points, she has Arcane Background (Gifted) and a power that reflects her unusual ability. Each time this is taken after the first costs 1 point and grants another power. It does not increase her Power Points—use the Power Points Edge for that.
    Several questions.

    1) How does the 1-point version work if the ability does not provide Power Points?
    ... Is it just a Focus roll "at will"?
    ... If it is "at will" (i.e., no PP needed) can modifiers be added? If so, how does that work?

    If the race also needs the Power Points Edge to fuel that one power, that requires 3 build points to get less utility than AB (Gifted) would provide for just 2 build points.

    2) The ability says it doesn't provide Power Points. Does this apply to the 2-point version as well?
    ... If yes, what exactly is the difference between the 1-point and 2-point versions? Is it just to allow the race to meet AB requirements of other Edges?

    How is the 2-point version of this ability different from the "Edge" ability offered eariler on the list?

    Genuinely confused here.

  • #2
    Originally posted by Deskepticon View Post
    Clarification is needed on how this ability is supposed to function. Page 19 of SWADE says:

    Originally posted by Positive Racial Abilities
    Power (U): The race has an innate ability that functions like a power (see page 147). For 2 points, she has Arcane Background (Gifted) and a power that reflects her unusual ability. Each time this is taken after the first costs 1 point and grants another power. It does not increase her Power Points—use the Power Points Edge for that.
    Several questions.

    1) How does the 1-point version work if the ability does not provide Power Points?
    We can ignore the other questions with the knowledge that there is no "1-point version." As noted in the description, Each time it is taken "after the first" the cost is 1 point. So power can only be available for 1 point after it's already been taken for the base 2 point effect. As it says, it "grants another power" meaning in addition to the first from the base 2 points.

    Originally posted by Deskepticon View Post
    2) The ability says it doesn't provide Power Points. Does this apply to the 2-point version as well?
    The ability says, "she has Arcane Background (Gifted)" which as per the description for the AB on page 148 has "POWER POINTS: 15."

    Originally posted by Deskepticon View Post
    How is the 2-point version of this ability different from the "Edge" ability offered eariler on the list?
    Two ways. The Edge ability offers the option to have an Edge "chosen from those available in the setting." The Power ability allows the race to have AB (Gifted) even if not available to anyone else in the setting. Secondly, Power specifies the exact power the race has (regardless of requirements). Edge just grants the Edge, so if an AB, the character could choose their power/powers (but must meet any requirements).

    There may be other factors Setting Rule-wise as well. For instance, in a setting where characters can't have two Arcane Backgrounds, a race with Power may be allowed to take another AB as well. So a fey race with the innate ability to cause confusion (via Power and Gifted) might also take AB (Magic) and learn spells that way.

    Hope that clarifies and helps!
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X