Savaging the Psi-Slayer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Savaging the Psi-Slayer

We get a lot of players asking about the Psi-Slayer, here's out attempt to savage it.
    https://savagerifts.com/blog/savagin...he-psi-slayer/

Absolutely love it! Great conversion.

I want to add this to the list of races in our own games. Would it be okay if I mirrored the racial description on my personal wiki (so the players didn't have to jump around) if I also include a very prominent link to this blog post?

Comment

• Venatus Vinco
      Venatus Vinco commented
      Editing a comment
      Yes, go ahead. A link back would be great. Also, let us know how they work in play if anyone uses one!

VV

I liked the way the logic of how the race was put together was explained.
    If anyone had a disagreement over costs or abilities it's easy to adjust to taste (not that I actually do as I have no experience of the race in question but I appreciate it being easy for anyone wishing to do so)

Comment

A few thoughts. Obviously take them or leave them!

I wonder if the Assassin edge might make more sense than No Mercy. Also, No Mercy is a seasoned edge, so it should cost 3 racial points, right? That said, I think that PEG eyeballed the PPE Vampire drawback at -3 points instead of -2. Mind you, I think having both would be better . . . and part of me wants to suggest adding even more Hindrances because lord knows the Psi-Slayer can justify them . . . but at the same time, obviously you don't want to make them unplayable.

One way to fit that in is to scale back Survival to a limited bonus, since the Psi-Slayer wasn't an outdoorsman, just a tracker. And B&B allows "Habit (Minor; Hunt or fight)" for the werecat, which isn't too punishing while still driving home how they're almost addicted to killing.

That would give:

+2 to Tracking (+1, as a limited bonus)
      AB Psionics (+2, Novice)
      Assassin (+2, Novice)
      No Mercy (+3, Seasoned)