Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Benny from drawing a Joker

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Benny from drawing a Joker

    Players get a Benny when a joker is drawn in combat. Does this also apply to dramatic tasks as rules state “draw action cards as usual”? I assume not as Multiple bennies could be gained over several rounds, whereas GM does not have the opportunity to get any.

  • #2
    Originally posted by Swadefriend View Post
    Players get a Benny when a joker is drawn in combat. Does this also apply to dramatic tasks as rules state “draw action cards as usual”? I assume not as Multiple bennies could be gained over several rounds, whereas GM does not have the opportunity to get any.
    It absolutely applies exactly because they get "action cards as usual."

    The players always have more opportunities to get Bennies than the GM, and the "balancing" factor isn't that the GM has an equal opportunity to earn them, but that the players also always have more situations to spend them.

    That actually is a factor specifically of Dramatic Tasks where getting a Club as the action card suit inflicts a penalty and can potentially cause the entire task to fail. But a player can spend a Benny to get a new action card. So while they do have opportunity to earn Bennies, they also have about a 1 in 4 chance of potentially needing to spend a Benny.

    Hope that helps and clarifies!
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X