Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can you come off of Hold without rolling Agility?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Can you come off of Hold without rolling Agility?

    If at the start of the round a character is on hold, but the highest card dealt to the enemies is a 10 of Clubs. Can the player simply go first declaring he is 'interrupting' what would be the Ace of Spades timing in the initiative order?

    This came up because we normally count cards down from Ace to 2, but as it turns out the player on Hold simply did not want to wait. (On the fly I allowed him to go, but did not know what the right answer was.)

  • #2
    Originally posted by Ndreare View Post
    If at the start of the round a character is on hold, but the highest card dealt to the enemies is a 10 of Clubs. Can the player simply go first declaring he is 'interrupting' what would be the Ace of Spades timing in the initiative order?

    This came up because we normally count cards down from Ace to 2, but as it turns out the player on Hold simply did not want to wait. (On the fly I allowed him to go, but did not know what the right answer was.)
    Per Hold, "He may then go later in the round if he chooses." And then under Interrupting Actions, "If a character on Hold wants to interrupt an action (including a rival who was also on Hold), he and the opponent make opposed Agility rolls."

    So unless the character is actively interrupting another character's action mid-resolution, they can simply use their Held action later whenever they want. But if they want to interrupt after foes have moved out of cover during their action but before they attack or move back into cover, then they have to attempt to interrupt with the Agility roll.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X