Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do raises on the soak roll allow you to also soak wounds from a previous attack?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Do raises on the soak roll allow you to also soak wounds from a previous attack?

    The rules state: "If the character Soaks all of the wounds from an attack, he removes his Shaken condition too (even from a previous source)."

    Can you -with raises- soak more wounds than were caused in the last attack?
    Or do these former wounds remain, and is -combined with the last wounds- only the shaken status removed?

    As in:
    Player1 has one wound remaining from a previous combat round.
    In a later combat round he gets hit by an arrow with a raise.
    This means he becomes shaken and receives a second wound.
    He is now shaken plus two wounds.
    Player1 decides to spend a benny to soak.
    He rolls a succes and a raise.
    He removes the one wound and -as this is all the wounds from the last attack- he also removes his shaken status.
    Is that correct so far?

    Will the raise on his soak roll also take care of the previous wound with which he started this round?

  • #2
    Originally posted by Pokke View Post
    The rules state: "If the character Soaks all of the wounds from an attack, he removes his Shaken condition too (even from a previous source)."

    Can you -with raises- soak more wounds than were caused in the last attack?
    Or do these former wounds remain, and is -combined with the last wounds- only the shaken status removed?

    As in:
    Player1 has one wound remaining from a previous combat round.
    In a later combat round he gets hit by an arrow with a raise.
    This means he becomes shaken and receives a second wound.
    He is now shaken plus two wounds.
    Player1 decides to spend a benny to soak.
    He rolls a succes and a raise.
    He removes the one wound and -as this is all the wounds from the last attack- he also removes his shaken status.
    Is that correct so far?

    Will the raise on his soak roll also take care of the previous wound with which he started this round?
    The character would remove the Shaken status for Soaking all the damage of that attack, but the roll has no impact on previously sustained damage.

    Per the preceding sentence in that section <italics added>, "A success and each raise reduces the number of wounds suffered from that attack by one."

    So a Soak roll only affects wounds from the attack occurring at that time. It has no effect on wounds suffered earlier.

    Hope that helps.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X