Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bonuses to the Lower of Two Skills

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Bonuses to the Lower of Two Skills

    If a character is in a situation where he would have to roll the lower of two Skills, and if he has a bonus that applies to the higher Skill, does the bonus apply to either roll, or only to the higher skill in question?

    Situation 1: Mounted Combat and Trademark Weapon. If a character has his Trademark Weapon cavalry saber, but his Fighting is higher than his Riding, does he add his Trademark Weapon bonus when making his Riding rolls to hit?

    Situation 2: Social Conflicts. If a character has +4 Charisma, but his appropriate Knowledge skill (e.g. Knowledge (Battle)) is lower than his Persuasion, would he still get his Charisma bonus to his Knowledge (Battle) rolls to persuade his audience even if he isn't familiar with the subject he's arguing?

    Situation 3: Say a character has to roll the lower of his Driving or his Stealth to tail an enemy through the city streets at night. If the character has Ace, but his Stealth is lower than his Driving, does he still add the Ace bonus to his Stealth roll since he's still handling a vehicle?
    My thoughts, musings, and general character adaptations on Savage Everything.

  • #2
    Originally posted by DoctorBoson View Post
    If a character is in a situation where he would have to roll the lower of two Skills, and if he has a bonus that applies to the higher Skill, does the bonus apply to either roll, or only to the higher skill in question?

    Situation 1: Mounted Combat and Trademark Weapon. If a character has his Trademark Weapon cavalry saber, but his Fighting is higher than his Riding, does he add his Trademark Weapon bonus when making his Riding rolls to hit?

    Situation 2: Social Conflicts. If a character has +4 Charisma, but his appropriate Knowledge skill (e.g. Knowledge (Battle)) is lower than his Persuasion, would he still get his Charisma bonus to his Knowledge (Battle) rolls to persuade his audience even if he isn't familiar with the subject he's arguing?
    The character is still making the appropriate roll for the action (Fighting to attack or Persuasion to convince), but the die used is limited by the second skill (Riding or Knowledge), so bonuses to the primary skill would still apply (Trademark Weapon or Charisma).

    What would not apply are any bonuses to the limiting Traits, so if the Social Conflict character had Scholar for +2 to Knowledge (Battle), they do not get that bonus.

    Hope that helps.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X