Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Berserk, critical failure and Bennies

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Berserk, critical failure and Bennies

    One of the conditions required to enter a berserker rage is failing a Smarts test. This is quite unusual as contrary to the typical situation it is the failed roll which works in the player's favour Having said that:
    1) Paragraph describing use of Bennies says that the player "takes the best of all attempts". Does "the best" mean highest total or is it subjective and a player can choose what does "the best" mean (in the context of Berserk Edge: can a player re-roll with the intention to fail the roll )?
    2) Critical failure is supposed to be extra unpleasant for the character, what does it mean in the context of Berserk's Smarts roll (this situation happened on my last session )? Does the character get enraged if she critically failed the Smarts roll? Or maybe critical failure should be treated as an equivalent of "success with a raise" in this "reverse" case and grant some additional bonus?

    Thanks in advance for the reply

  • #2
    Originally posted by zgreg View Post
    One of the conditions required to enter a berserker rage is failing a Smarts test. This is quite unusual as contrary to the typical situation it is the failed roll which works in the player's favour Having said that:
    1) Paragraph describing use of Bennies says that the player "takes the best of all attempts". Does "the best" mean highest total or is it subjective and a player can choose what does "the best" mean (in the context of Berserk Edge: can a player re-roll with the intention to fail the roll )?
    It means the highest. Per the example that follows, "If you roll a 5, for example, and a Benny gets you a 4, keep the original 5 instead."

    In short, nope. Berserk is unique due to its huge benefits.

    Originally posted by zgreg View Post
    2) Critical failure is supposed to be extra unpleasant for the character, what does it mean in the context of Berserk's Smarts roll (this situation happened on my last session )? Does the character get enraged if she critically failed the Smarts roll? Or maybe critical failure should be treated as an equivalent of "success with a raise" in this "reverse" case and grant some additional bonus?
    Nope, it's still a critical failure, it just activates Berserk too. Consider that for a moment, and the implications should sink in.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X