Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is there a cost to "Crouching"?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Is there a cost to "Crouching"?

    One on my players has taken to "Crouching" to get the -1 to all range attacks against him. Great way to use the rules!! But he argues that going from standing to crouching or crouching to standing does not cost pace. So at the start of his turn he stands up from a crouch does his move at full pace and than crouches again. Is this legal?

  • #2
    Originally posted by marroon69 View Post
    One on my players has taken to "Crouching" to get the -1 to all range attacks against him. Great way to use the rules!! But he argues that going from standing to crouching or crouching to standing does not cost pace. So at the start of his turn he stands up from a crouch does his move at full pace and than crouches again. Is this legal?
    Nope. Per Crouching <italics added>, "A character may move while crouching at half Pace. He may run while crouched (halve his total Pace after rolling for running). Ranged attacks against him suffer a –1 penalty."

    The section is specifically about moving while crouching, not rising from crouched, moving, and then crouching. The penalty only applies if the character crouches for the entirety of their movement. If not, no penalty.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X