Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[SPC2] Altered Form and Contingent

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • [SPC2] Altered Form and Contingent

    Altered Form:
    When taking altered form, if the character takes Requires Activationso they can also be human, does this count as a negative (-1) to the power cost, or a positive (+1) since it add flexibility to the player to not be constantly in an altered form?

    Contingent:
    When using the Contingent modifier for powers, is there a limit to the number of powers that can be contingent on just one power?
    If the character has all of their powers contingent to one power (Altered Form) do they get the -1 cost to all powers involved, or should they take Gimmick as a hindrance since no powers work with out fulfilling a certain condition (changing form)?


  • #2
    Originally posted by miasma25 View Post
    Altered Form:
    When taking altered form, if the character takes Requires Activationso they can also be human, does this count as a negative (-1) to the power cost, or a positive (+1) since it add flexibility to the player to not be constantly in an altered form?
    There's not really any negative to constantly being in the altered form, the character doesn't even have to look different unless part of the trappings (consider every elastic hero has Altered Form and looks normal unless stretching). So yep, it's a -1 Limitation as the character won't have access to the power if surprised or caught off guard, not to mention of course the power deactivating if Incapacitated, knocked unconscious, or unable to maintain it for some other reason.

    Originally posted by miasma25 View Post
    AContingent:
    When using the Contingent modifier for powers, is there a limit to the number of powers that can be contingent on just one power?
    If the character has all of their powers contingent to one power (Altered Form) do they get the -1 cost to all powers involved, or should they take Gimmick as a hindrance since no powers work with out fulfilling a certain condition (changing form)?
    More than one power can be Contingent on the same other power. If a player wants to "put all their eggs in one basket" and make all other powers Contingent on one, they could if the GM allows it.

    The player does need to be prepared for such an "all or nothing" drawback. For instance, Negation with Leech can turn off all their powers just by turning off Altered Form. And only the points in Altered Form count to determine if the target is more powerful, so even a lower Power Level character would likely be able to affect them. And while Negation may seem like just one power, there are powers which allow mimicking other powers not to mention the option to Power Stunt and duplicate the effect if it makes sense for the power (cold could negate elastic or fire forms, magnetism or electricity affect metal ones, etc.). The point being the character will "pay" for the 1 point discount on every power, and the cost may be higher than presumed.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X