Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

On Hold, Interrupting and changing actions

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • On Hold, Interrupting and changing actions

    In short: can a player change the actions which were declared but interrupted and the interruption has changed the situation on the battlefield?

    For example let's assume that we have a fight between Alice, who is On Hold and hides behind a cover, and Bob. Bob's turn begins and Bob's player announces that his character, wielding a spear, will get ready to throw it and spend full round Aiming at Alice. Alice decides to interrupt that action, comes out of the cover and attacks Bob in melee. The attack is unsuccessful and we return to Bob, but now the situation has changed and the originally declared action makes little sense.
    1. Can Bob's player change his mind and declare that instead of aiming his character attacks Alice?
    2. Can Bob's player declare more actions that he did originally? In particular if two actions were declared, the first was made with -2 MAP and the second was interrupted, can Bob's player, when the interruption is over, declare two different actions and perform both with MAP of -3?

  • #2
    Originally posted by zgreg View Post
    In short: can a player change the actions which were declared but interrupted and the interruption has changed the situation on the battlefield?

    For example let's assume that we have a fight between Alice, who is On Hold and hides behind a cover, and Bob. Bob's turn begins and Bob's player announces that his character, wielding a spear, will get ready to throw it and spend full round Aiming at Alice. Alice decides to interrupt that action, comes out of the cover and attacks Bob in melee. The attack is unsuccessful and we return to Bob, but now the situation has changed and the originally declared action makes little sense.
    1. Can Bob's player change his mind and declare that instead of aiming his character attacks Alice?
    Not usually though a GM might allow exceptions if they make sense. In this case though, I'd definitely say no since Aiming takes an entire round of doing nothing else. That limitation would mean less if interrupting an Aiming character just meant they could take a different action.

    Originally posted by zgreg View Post
    2. Can Bob's player declare more actions that he did originally? In particular if two actions were declared, the first was made with -2 MAP and the second was interrupted, can Bob's player, when the interruption is over, declare two different actions and perform both with MAP of -3?
    Nope. While in regards to a different aspect of the rules, per Multiple Actions <italics added>, "make sure the player is committed to both actions before resolving either." MAP penalties depend on committing to all actions before resolution. In the above, adding an additional action would have resulted in a -4 (not -3 by the way) penalty to the action made before being Interrupted.

    It's important to note that Interrupting a character during their turn, just means another character resolves all their actions before returning to the other character's turn. It doesn't "reset" the interrupted character to a new turn. The other character's actions are just resolved before continuing their turn.

    Hope that helps and clarifies.
    Clint Black
    Forum Admin & Rules Answer Guy
    Savage Worlds Brand Manager

    Comment

    Working...
    X