Where to start with Deadlands reloaded

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to start with Deadlands reloaded

I have a solid amount of Savage Worlds experience--been through 2 editions and have played/GM'd many one shots, 50fathoms, some last parsec etc. Not a veteran by any means but not a complete noob.

My question is this: Where to start in Deadlands reloaded--in best bang for the buck sort of way. I think they are working on a reprint of the game or updating it to Adventure edition. Details are vague etc but it is getting some sort of version update. Due to this as well as the TON of books out there--where does one start. I don't plan on buying a ton, but if I want to get a good feel for the game where to go first?

Do I NEED the marshalls guide? If I just get the first Plot point, the Flood--does that have all the player and Marshall's stuff in it or do you also need to get the players and marshalls guides? Also, would you recommend with a PPC first or do some smaller one-offs. Suggestions, please!?

You do need the Player's Guide and the Marshal's Guide. There are settings rules and background that are not in The Flood. You can play Deadlands without the Flood, you can't play the Flood without Deadlands: Reloaded Player's guide & Marshal's Handbook.

The player's guide is needed for the Edges, and types of magic casters.
    The Marshal's Guide has the real info on what's going on in the Weird West, info on the various factions, and monsters/NPCs.

The Flood takes you through a campaign set in the Great Maze of California. It has the outline of adventures, NPCs you'll need (that aren't in the Marshal's Handbook) and other things the GM needs to know about the area.

Comment

Deadlands is pretty awesome, but sprawling. Deadlands: Reloaded is going to get a major update - including being consolidated into one book (again) - sometime "soon"; probably during 2019.
      Originally posted by Nostromo View Post