Super Powers, Balancing gear and more

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Super Powers, Balancing gear and more

I'm brand new to both Savage Worlds and D:HoE, so forgive my naive questions. I've got more than a couple!

Super Powers: Can players select AB(Super Powers) for characters? I'm pretty sure they can't based on page 41's "New Edges." I'm surprised super powers may not be included, which is the reason I ask. Is there a compelling setting or mechanical reason they aren't included?

Gear and Game Balance: I'm confused about how the larger game plays considering the wild possibilities from things like scrounging. A lucky player could end up discovering a tank, even under unlikely circumstances. How is gear and "cash" usually doled out per adventure/session? I don't see any sort of "wealth by rank" type guidelines and it's hard to understand how the power levels of characters and monsters work out when things like gear comes into the equation. The combat rating system also seems a lazy guide as it doesn't take things like tank-driving characters into account. Maybe I'm being a bad judge of it though, especially if it works well. I haven't really played, after all.

Dungeon Crawling: Most of the material I've seen for SW and D:HoE doesn't provide for traditional dungeon type scenarios where characters might plumb a base or cavern with numerous encounters in a day's adventuring. How do GMs create or handle this sort of gaming in SW or even D:HoE?

RAW, no, you cannot take AB (Super Powers). In your game if you want radioactive a mongoose to give a character super powers go for it. Sounds fun.