***Rules Questions for SW Settings***

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#21 Postby Clint » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:49 pm

Jyass wrote:On page 129 of the NE hardback book, it lists 4-Star as having a d12+1 in a skill called deflection. I was intrigued by this until I realized that he had no throwing skill for his throwing stars, so I replaced the deflection skill with a throwing at the same die type (d12+1). Was the deflection skill a typo or is there some game rule involving deflection that I haven't grasped yet?


Just a mistake. You did right making it Throwing. He should also list as a power...

Super-Skill: Throwing (+2 Steps).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: super-strength as a heavy weapon in NE

#22 Postby Clint » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:49 pm

palehorse wrote:
nerdron wrote:clint is gone? what will we do?!!! :)
when is he due back?


Some time around this weekend or next Monday-ish, IIRC.


Correct. :wink:
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
Mr. Freak
Veteran
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 9:34 pm
Location: St. Louis, MO

#23 Postby Mr. Freak » Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:52 am

If an opponent was engaged in melee and someone snuck up on them would they get the +4 hold bonus or just the +1 gang up?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#24 Postby Clint » Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:19 pm

Galen_Rasputin wrote:If an opponent was engaged in melee and someone snuck up on them would they get the +4 hold bonus or just the +1 gang up?


This does not seem to be a setting specific question, so I answered it under the general question thread here...

http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=87878&highlight=#87878
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

Banjo
Seasoned
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 6:01 pm
Location: Gordon Park, QLD

NE - Combat Drugs ?

#25 Postby Banjo » Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:22 pm

Various combat drugs in NE give bonuses to physical attributes.
Do these bonuses also apply to the skills associated with these attributes :?:

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: NE - Combat Drugs ?

#26 Postby Clint » Tue Jul 12, 2005 4:49 pm

Banjo wrote:Various combat drugs in NE give bonuses to physical attributes.
Do these bonuses also apply to the skills associated with these attributes :?:


Hmm, not as written... but you could run it that way. The only one it would really affect would be Agility which is a bit shortshrifted anyway.

I'd say it affects the skill only if the character already has it. It will increase linked skills if the character has at least a d4 in them, but it won't give any increase if the character is unskilled.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
Apollo
Novice
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:00 pm

#27 Postby Apollo » Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:00 pm

I am unclear on statement on page 30 of the Necessary Evil book that Active powers require a Shooting or Throwing roll. I understand Attack Ranged requiring a Shooting roll. What other powers require this?

Here are some I am unsure of:

Force Control Bind, Energy Control Damage, Earthquake, Stun

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#28 Postby Clint » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:29 am

Apollo wrote:I am unclear on statement on page 30 of the Necessary Evil book that Active powers require a Shooting or Throwing roll. I understand Attack Ranged requiring a Shooting roll. What other powers require this?


Basically any power that requires targeting a point at range.


Apollo wrote:Here are some I am unsure of:

Force Control Bind, Energy Control Damage, Earthquake, Stun


Energy Control and Stun: Yes.

Earthquake: No (it's a straight line that starts from the character).

Force Control: No/Yes. Force Control uses Fighting normally (it's mentioned in the power description a couple of times). In essence, it's just using Strength at range, so Fighting is the more appropriate skill... usually. You could easily switch out the use of Fighting for Shooting, but either way, it does need some skill for targeting.

Hope this helps!
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#29 Postby Clint » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:53 am

DarkEmperor040 wrote:If someone wanted to create a character that could absorb not just one type of attack coming at him and then use the transference and reflection modifiers to them, how should you go about purchasing the powers?

Absorption (Type 1) with the modifiers to start it off, but then, if you wanted another type, wouldn't you have to buy Absorption (Type 2). And, if you wanted to use the modifiers with the second absorption, would you have to buy them both again?


I'd just have them spend the base 4 PP's for each type of energy absorbed. I wouldn't make them buy the power all over again. In essence, a new Modifier...

Extra Type (+4): You may absorb one additional type of energy each time you take this modifier.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
DarkEmperor040
Novice
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:35 am

#30 Postby DarkEmperor040 » Thu Jul 14, 2005 11:06 am

I forgot to ask this on the previous question. With the Reflection modifier to Absorption, does the villain need to make a shooting roll and does the reflected damage only go back to the person who dealt it, or can it target someone else? I would think so.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#31 Postby Clint » Thu Jul 14, 2005 11:19 am

DarkEmperor040 wrote:I forgot to ask this on the previous question. With the Reflection modifier to Absorption, does the villain need to make a shooting roll and does the reflected damage only go back to the person who dealt it, or can it target someone else? I would think so.


Either way.

You can run it as true reflected energy. In which case, it automatically attacks the original attack as if using their own attack roll. Most of the time this won't be an issue, but if the attacker is behind cover or something and the target wasn't, it could make a difference.

Or you can allow the character to direct the reflected energy to attack others. In this case, they have to make a Shooting roll to hit every time they reflect energy (even if attacking the original source of the energy).

I'd say the two ways pretty much balance out.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
Mindseye
Seasoned
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: Wichita, Kansas

When Cap throws his mighty shield . . .

#32 Postby Mindseye » Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:41 pm

I remember this being covered earlier, but I can't find the topic. I'm assuming it's been pruned.

I was looking for a modifier for Attack, Ranged, that simulates the character throwing a unique weapon (Shield, Boomerang, Hammer, etc.) and it returning to them. I remember mention of Parry's Catch and Throw modifier, but it seems a bit cheap for getting the item to return as well as being able to throw it again. Opinions?

da Wookiee

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: When Cap throws his mighty shield . . .

#33 Postby Clint » Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:51 pm

da Wookiee wrote:I remember this being covered earlier, but I can't find the topic. I'm assuming it's been pruned.

I was looking for a modifier for Attack, Ranged, that simulates the character throwing a unique weapon (Shield, Boomerang, Hammer, etc.) and it returning to them. I remember mention of Parry's Catch and Throw modifier, but it seems a bit cheap for getting the item to return as well as being able to throw it again. Opinions?


Hmm, I'm not sure I understand your question.

If the effect is just an item that you throw and it returns to you, that just seems like a trapping for Attack, Ranged (other than perhaps being a Device that can be taken away).
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
Apollo
Novice
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:00 pm

#34 Postby Apollo » Thu Jul 14, 2005 7:55 pm

Thanks for your answer. Am I correct to say using a power such as Stun or Energy Control with a Medium Burst Template would be a Target Number of 4 because it is an area effect attack?

If a character has Awareness, can he see in Pitch Black Darkness?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19193
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

#35 Postby Clint » Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:43 pm

Apollo wrote:Thanks for your answer. Am I correct to say using a power such as Stun or Energy Control with a Medium Burst Template would be a Target Number of 4 because it is an area effect attack?


Yeah, and instead of the normal deviation, you can just roll 1d6 since it can't deviate more than 6" anyway (half of 12").

Apollo wrote:If a character has Awareness, can he see in Pitch Black Darkness?


Yep, "suffers no penalties for bad lighting..." Darkness is about as bad as lighting gets. :wink:

Also be sure to check the Feeding Frenzy column in Sharkbytes for answers to a lot of questions. The link is in the first post.
Clint Black

Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager



www.peginc.com

User avatar
Mindseye
Seasoned
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: Wichita, Kansas

Re: When Cap throws his mighty shield . . .

#36 Postby Mindseye » Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:58 pm

Clint wrote:
da Wookiee wrote:I remember this being covered earlier, but I can't find the topic. I'm assuming it's been pruned.

I was looking for a modifier for Attack, Ranged, that simulates the character throwing a unique weapon (Shield, Boomerang, Hammer, etc.) and it returning to them. I remember mention of Parry's Catch and Throw modifier, but it seems a bit cheap for getting the item to return as well as being able to throw it again. Opinions?


Hmm, I'm not sure I understand your question.

If the effect is just an item that you throw and it returns to you, that just seems like a trapping for Attack, Ranged (other than perhaps being a Device that can be taken away).



Okay, Working with that, Let me see if I've set it up right.

Attack, Ranged (Trapping: Thrown Shield that Returns) Rapid Fire, Device [cost: 5]

This way, Cap makes two Throwing rolls, (one Wild Die, replacing either Throwing Die) targets two different opponents, and regardless of whether he connects with either throw, the shield is assumed to have returned to him to be thrown again next turn. The shield can be taken from him, but otherwise, he's assumed to have it.

It seems so clear now. (assuming i've got it right) I don't know why I try to complicate things.

Thanks Clint.

User avatar
SlasherEpoch
Legendary
Posts: 5625
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 11:16 pm
Location: Off stage left

#37 Postby SlasherEpoch » Sat Jul 16, 2005 6:43 pm

Having finally ponied up the cash for NE myself (as the characters in the boards might indicate), I now have a question about Altered Form, specically about size increases. Are they possible? IE, is every 50% larger increment another point of Size up or down from their original, or is it just something for a character's question "Can I stretch that far?" It seems to me like some of the benefits of large size might be built in, but I thought I'd check.

User avatar
Redeucer
Heroic
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 1:24 pm
Location: Wherever the road leads me
Contact:

#38 Postby Redeucer » Sat Jul 16, 2005 10:51 pm

Hey Slasher,

For one point more, you get the additional 50% increase or decrease and +1 reach. So if you spent 6 points (3 on base Altered Form with More Elastic x3 for 3 more points) you would be able to stretch 4" and you would be able to grow to 3 times his normal size, or teeny tiny. You can be teeny tiny and still stretch 4", or you can be 3 times your size and stretch 4". Or anything inbetween. The amount you stretch is not tied to your size.

Does this answer your question?
a trai en pace,

Redeucer
Darth Squirellious, Dark Rodent of the Sith!

"Mediocrity has never been so EPIC!"
- SlasherEpoch

User avatar
SlasherEpoch
Legendary
Posts: 5625
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 11:16 pm
Location: Off stage left

#39 Postby SlasherEpoch » Sat Jul 16, 2005 11:56 pm

Not...really. I sort of meant, "As an additional effect to Altered Form, can a character stretch to the point of counting as a Size+1 creature?"

In other words, can stretchiness imitate growth? Since the power says they can stretch to be 50% larger, it seems to imply that, but it's not spelled out yes or no.

User avatar
Redeucer
Heroic
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 1:24 pm
Location: Wherever the road leads me
Contact:

#40 Postby Redeucer » Sun Jul 17, 2005 10:25 am

The way I understand it, yes...to a point. The exception being you don't get the actual the toughness and strength bonuses you get with Growth. Was that the question?
a trai en pace,



Redeucer

Darth Squirellious, Dark Rodent of the Sith!



"Mediocrity has never been so EPIC!"

- SlasherEpoch


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest