Damaging Zombies

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Hub
Seasoned
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 5:04 pm

Damaging Zombies

#1 Postby Hub » Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:53 am

I know you can stick them in a mincer, or a furnace, or drop them from 10,000 feet, but those things apart, do you have to hit zombies in the head to damage/kill them?

I ask because there's been a few occasions when our players have whacked them for quite a lot of damage in the torso area - and aside from having them Shaken, I'm not sure what to do about killing them with hits to the body?

Also, whilst I'm here, you draw a card every round when in combat?

Finally, does a successful Called Shot ignore any armour? It says so on the Combat Survival Guide but I couldn't find it under the Called Shot rules on page 81

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19373
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Damaging Zombies

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:21 am

Hub wrote:I know you can stick them in a mincer, or a furnace, or drop them from 10,000 feet, but those things apart, do you have to hit zombies in the head to damage/kill them?

I ask because there's been a few occasions when our players have whacked them for quite a lot of damage in the torso area - and aside from having them Shaken, I'm not sure what to do about killing them with hits to the body?


Zombies in the core rules do not have the Invulnerability Monstrous Ability, so there is no reason they could not be "killed"/Incapacitated by attacks other than headshots (though headshots do significantly more damage).

Hub wrote:Also, whilst I'm here, you draw a card every round when in combat?


I presume this is for initiative, and if so, yes, new cards are dealt at the beginning of each round (unless as noted under being on Hold, the character still has a held action in which case they are not dealt in).

Hub wrote:Finally, does a successful Called Shot ignore any armour? It says so on the Combat Survival Guide but I couldn't find it under the Called Shot rules on page 81


Depends on what location is being aimed for. As noted under Called Shots <italics added>...

"Limb (–2): An attack to a limb causes no additional damage but may ignore armor"

"Small Target (–4): Attacks against small targets such as the heart of a vampire or a missing scale on a large dragon’s chest are made at –4. The effect of success depends on the situation—the vampire might die instantly, the missing scale may mean the dragon gets no armor, etc."

"Tiny Target (–6): Particularly small or narrow targets, such as the eye-slit of a knight’s helmet, carry a –6 modifier. The effects of a hit depend on the target. In the case of the knight, the blow ignores armor..."

Also note this connects back to Armor in the Gear section which states <italics added again>...

"Armor: This is the amount of Armor provided by the equipment, which is added to the wearer’s Toughness when the covered location is hit in combat."

...and...

"Note that unless an attacker states otherwise, hits are always directed at the victim’s torso."

Meaning that to hit a location other than the torso requires a Called Shot, so that's inherent to bypassing armor on the torso with a normal attack.

Hope that clarifies.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest