Fanmade Works and CPNI

Post questions or comments directly to the Pinnacle crew here. Please be patient and try to keep conversations to a BARE minimum--the guys get a LOT of mail! Please also direct rules questions to the relevant forum--most folks there will already know what you're looking for. Thanks!

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
MagusRogue
Seasoned
Posts: 421
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:48 pm

Fanmade Works and CPNI

#1 Postby MagusRogue » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:44 pm

Hey I'm working on a savaged campaign setting that's literally all but done, just working on the magic chapter. Now, here's the tricky part, and one I wanna pass with you guys before I upload it and share it for usage and criticism: some (many) of the powers used in the setting are repurposed from either the core rules or other products (really just 50 Fathoms for the Storm and Zephyr powers). Others are mostly the same, just with some added trappings (namely repurposing Blast and Bolt). Also a weapon got repurposed, re-weighted a bit, and reused. Would I get the fifty flaming spears of death and agony for putting this up? I can see CPNI issues, but it makes it easier than just 'Go to XWY Product You May Not Have To Use An Essential Power To The Setting.'

Your two cents?
Adam Loyd
Freelancer and Proofreader (check me out in the Noir books!)
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand this rant is over.

jpk
Legendary
Posts: 2248
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:42 am
Location: Tazewell, East Tennessee, USA

#2 Postby jpk » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:50 am

Using existing game mechanics from published works would require a license and permission from each publisher (if you're using materials from licensees, for instance).

To be covered under the Fan license, you'll need to stick to references to core mechanics with changes listed rather than including the full text. For example, "Flaming Glare of the Soul: As bolt, but requires unobstructed line of sight and can only harm living beings." would be fine and dandy. Actually including the bolt mechanics in your Flaming Glare of the Soul entry would not.

For the most part, if you've tinkered with a common weapon, you're fine to include the version for your setting. If you've tinkered with a weapon that's tied to a setting or is otherwise someone else's intellectual property (say, the named guns of the CSA and USA from Hell on Earth Reloaded), then you may be running into some trouble.

Does that clear things up?
Joel Kinstle
Pinnacle Entertainment, www.peginc.com

MagusRogue
Seasoned
Posts: 421
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:48 pm

#3 Postby MagusRogue » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:37 am

That works for me, thanks!
Adam Loyd

Freelancer and Proofreader (check me out in the Noir books!)

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand this rant is over.

MagusRogue
Seasoned
Posts: 421
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 2:48 pm

#4 Postby MagusRogue » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:25 pm

hey guys once I'm done mind if i run it by you guys to see if its kosher before i post it?
Adam Loyd

Freelancer and Proofreader (check me out in the Noir books!)

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand this rant is over.


Return to “Hey Pinnacle!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest