[SPC] Minions

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
JackMann
Veteran
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:06 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

[SPC] Minions

#1 Postby JackMann » Tue Oct 30, 2012 1:33 am

Another powers question.

So, what happens if your minions get wiped out? Is it like the Followers Edge? That is, if they die, are they permanently gone, and you have to wait until you can take the power points edge again to get new ones?

What happens if you've taken the superpowers option with the power? Are those power points gone as well, or do they apply to new minions?

Let's say we have Mastermind, a genius who directs his minions in battle. Let's say he's put most of his initial power points into minions, giving him five minions with three power points each. During a particularly bad job, all five minions die. Is he now down to two power points? Or is he down to five, with three unusable until he spends more power points to get new minions?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19572
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [SPC] Minions

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:04 am

JackMann wrote:So, what happens if your minions get wiped out? Is it like the Followers Edge? That is, if they die, are they permanently gone, and you have to wait until you can take the power points edge again to get new ones?

What happens if you've taken the superpowers option with the power? Are those power points gone as well, or do they apply to new minions?

Let's say we have Mastermind, a genius who directs his minions in battle. Let's say he's put most of his initial power points into minions, giving him five minions with three power points each. During a particularly bad job, all five minions die. Is he now down to two power points? Or is he down to five, with three unusable until he spends more power points to get new minions?


Minions are replaceable. For normal minions, the GM and player need to work out how they are replaced (go down to the "Red Shirt Tavern" or call up "Rent-a-Thug" or whatever), but new ones can be obtained.

If they have powers, then either they come with powers from some source or perhaps the villain imbues them with powers ("You 5 survived the process, congratulations! Now, get rid of these bodies for me.")

And just to cover it, if they are summonable, then there might be an "infinite" supply, but the character can only summon so many at once. I would not however allow the character to replenish lost minions during combat without some kind of additional modifier.

Really though a lot of it depend on the trappings.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests