Puppet and repeating actions

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
justinsg
Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:14 pm

Puppet and repeating actions

#1 Postby justinsg » Thu Oct 18, 2012 2:54 pm

Clint,

I read once regarding Mind Control (a power from the Super Powers Companion), that you could not activate the power and issue a command in the same round because this would be repeating an action.

In regards to the Deluxe Rules Puppet ...

1) Can you tell your target what to do in the same round you cast Puppet on them? Or do you need to wait until the following round to avoid repeating an action?

2) In subsequent rounds, could I tell my puppet what to do and also activate another power (like Bolt) without repeating an action? Or does merely telling my puppet to do something act as my power action for that round?

3) Do you have to tell the puppet what to do on every round of action? If I say "go over there and sit down" in round one, do I have to say "continue sitting" in round two?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19745
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Puppet and repeating actions

#2 Postby Clint » Thu Oct 18, 2012 4:13 pm

justinsg wrote:I read once regarding Mind Control (a power from the Super Powers Companion), that you could not activate the power and issue a command in the same round because this would be repeating an action.


FYI, these use two completely different power systems; it's best to never presume a power in the SPC works like one in the core rulebook just because they appear similar. They might, but not by intent.

justinsg wrote:In regards to the Deluxe Rules Puppet ...

1) Can you tell your target what to do in the same round you cast Puppet on them? Or do you need to wait until the following round to avoid repeating an action?


Activating Puppet requires an arcane skill roll, but telling the target what to do is just a free action (speaking). Now, if they don't have an action currently (say they already used it), they may not be able to do it yet, but they could be told what to do when they can next act.

justinsg wrote:2) In subsequent rounds, could I tell my puppet what to do and also activate another power (like Bolt) without repeating an action? Or does merely telling my puppet to do something act as my power action for that round?


Once the power is active, it works like any other power with the listed duration; penalties only come up if maintained. And as noted above, giving a new command is just a free action. So yeah, the character could cast something else on a following round and give a command.

justinsg wrote:3) Do you have to tell the puppet what to do on every round of action? If I say "go over there and sit down" in round one, do I have to say "continue sitting" in round two?


No, they will continue doing a requested action unless told to do something different (or the power lapses).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest