[SPC] Extra Actions

This topic is for rules questions related to products from Pinnacle outside the core rulebook (Settings, Companions, etc.). Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
justinsg
Novice
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:14 pm

[SPC] Extra Actions

#1 Postby justinsg » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:57 am

I'm just confirming what I already believe to be true ... using the Stun power and the Whirlwind power in the same round is not possible without taking Extra Actions with the Repeat Action modifier, right? Because usually you can't activate two powers in the same round.

But, the movement ones like Flight, Leaping, and Speed, could be used with another power in the same round because they are passive?

As a corollary, if you had six powers that all have the Requires Activation modifier, could you activate all six using free actions in the first round or would it take six rounds of using one free action per round?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19611
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: [SPC] Extra Actions

#2 Postby Clint » Tue Oct 16, 2012 2:46 pm

justinsg wrote:I'm just confirming what I already believe to be true ... using the Stun power and the Whirlwind power in the same round is not possible without taking Extra Actions with the Repeat Action modifier, right? Because usually you can't activate two powers in the same round.


Characters can't repeat the same action in a round. If two powers use different actions, they could be used in the same round with the normal multiple action penalty. But if two powers both required say Shooting to target with, then no they could not be used in the same round.

However, note that Whirlwind has specific rules on its use and combination with other actions; in short, creating the whirlwind can't be combined with any other actions.

justinsg wrote:But, the movement ones like Flight, Leaping, and Speed, could be used with another power in the same round because they are passive?


Well, normal movement is a free action, and those powers are just different options for normal movement. The character can use those powers together as that would be repeating the same action (movement), but they could be used with different actions as above, and since they are free actions they don't inflict a MAP.

justinsg wrote:As a corollary, if you had six powers that all have the Requires Activation modifier, could you activate all six using free actions in the first round or would it take six rounds of using one free action per round?


It would take 6 rounds since all of the powers require the same action "Requires Activation" to activate them, and that action cannot be repeated.

Hope that helps.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Rules In Other Pinnacle Products Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests