A Trick Shakes a target, does that Shaken count for wounds?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Kertain
Seasoned
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:36 am

A Trick Shakes a target, does that Shaken count for wounds?

#1 Postby Kertain » Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:08 am

Morning,
I have a player who does a trick against a bad guy.
He succeeds with a raise and cause the baddy to be Shaken.

Either that same round, or later on the baddy is damaged with a normal success. Does the baddy take a wound?

I have seen the answer "yes" a few times, but the SW:D states
(page 68 under Applying Damage: Success):
"...To cause a wound, the later Shaken result must come from a physical attack of some kind- not a test of wills or other maneuver"

According to that statement, the Shaken result taken from a trick (or test of wills for that matter) does not count to further Wounds.

So I am confused:
http://www.peginc.com/forum/viewtopic.p ... aken+wound

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: A Trick Shakes a target, does that Shaken count for woun

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:00 am

Kertain wrote:Morning,
I have a player who does a trick against a bad guy.
He succeeds with a raise and cause the baddy to be Shaken.

Either that same round, or later on the baddy is damaged with a normal success. Does the baddy take a wound?


If he is still Shaken, yes.

Kertain wrote:I have seen the answer "yes" a few times, but the SW:D states
(page 68 under Applying Damage: Success):
"...To cause a wound, the later Shaken result must come from a physical attack of some kind- not a test of wills or other maneuver"

According to that statement, the Shaken result taken from a trick (or test of wills for that matter) does not count to further Wounds.


Check that sentence again, noting the bolded and underlined part...

"...To cause a wound, the later Shaken result must come from a physical attack of some kind- not a test of wills or other maneuver"

The later Shaken result has to come from damage, but the earlier Shaken the target already has can come from anything, including a Test of Wills, Trick, Fear, whatever.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests