Frenzy - declaring targets

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
ThatGiantMan
Novice
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: England

Frenzy - declaring targets

#1 Postby ThatGiantMan » Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:00 pm

So, with Frenzy, I can make two fighting attacks (two fighting dice, one wild die), potentially attacking two opponents, but at what point do I have to declare who I'm attacking?

A) Roll dice, resolve each attack in turn - "Ok, a 9, 7 and 6... I'll apply the 9 to opponent A... hit... *poor damage roll*... ok, I'll apply the 7 to opponent A as well... hit.. and he's dead."

B) Roll dice, assign targets, resolve attacks - "Ok, a 9, 7 and 6... I'll apply the 9 to target A and the 7 to target B... the 9 hits and the 7 misses."

C) Assign targets, roll dice, assign dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll put one attack on A and one on B... a 9, a 3 and a 2... I guess I'll apply the 9 to target A as he's the bigger threat... the 3 will obviously miss B."

D) Assign targets, assign dice, roll dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll attack both guys... red fighting die on A, blue fighting die on B... red is a 9, so that will hit... blue is a 2... the wild die is 3, so not going to help."


To me, C looks like the fastest and fairest method, but I wondered if there's an official answer.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19740
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Frenzy - declaring targets

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:21 pm

ThatGiantMan wrote:So, with Frenzy, I can make two fighting attacks (two fighting dice, one wild die), potentially attacking two opponents, but at what point do I have to declare who I'm attacking?

C) Assign targets, roll dice, assign dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll put one attack on A and one on B... a 9, a 3 and a 2... I guess I'll apply the 9 to target A as he's the bigger threat... the 3 will obviously miss B."

D) Assign targets, assign dice, roll dice, resolve attacks - "Ok, I'll attack both guys... red fighting die on A, blue fighting die on B... red is a 9, so that will hit... blue is a 2... the wild die is 3, so not going to help."


To me, C looks like the fastest and fairest method, but I wondered if there's an official answer.


Either C or D would work (since it is a single action targets need to be chosen before resolution), and as long as both the players and the GM use the same system, they're balanced. C would be fastest though as you said.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests