Does Florentine Require Wielding two Weapons?

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Thunderforge
Veteran
Posts: 953
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:13 am

Does Florentine Require Wielding two Weapons?

#1 Postby Thunderforge » Sun Sep 16, 2012 8:13 pm

The description for the Florentine Edge is as follows:
A character trained to fight “Florentine” is a master at wielding two weapons at once. He adds +1 to his Fighting rolls versus an opponent with a single weapon and no shield. In addition, opponents subtract 1 from any “gang up” bonuses they would normally get against the fighter as his two flashing blades parry their blows.

Although the first sentence says that the character is a master at wielding two weapons, there isn't an explicit statement that two weapons are required to get the benefit. Does this mean that you could use a sword in one hand and your bare fist in the other to get the benefit (i.e. only be wielding one weapon)?

Moreover, the last few words suggest that they have to be bladed weapons (thus you couldn't do a sword and pistol), but again, it's not explicitly stated. I would think that maybe it's implied that you have to have two blades.

To further the confusion, the Edge summary table says the Edge provides "+1 vs. foes with single weapon and no shield; ignore 1 point of gang up bonus", saying nothing about requiring two weapons or the type of the weapon, implying it's on all the time (two weapons, one weapon + fist, or two fisted).

The spirit of the Edge seems to suggest that two bladed weapons are necessary, but I just don't see the words of the Edge explicitly saying it. How exactly is it supposed to work?
Wild Card Creator: Any PDF, Any Setting, No Extra Cost.

The Elder Scrolls conversion and other fun creations.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19836
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Does Florentine Require Wielding two Weapons?

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:58 am

Thunderforge wrote:The description for the Florentine Edge is as follows:
A character trained to fight “Florentine” is a master at wielding two weapons at once. He adds +1 to his Fighting rolls versus an opponent with a single weapon and no shield. In addition, opponents subtract 1 from any “gang up” bonuses they would normally get against the fighter as his two flashing blades parry their blows.

Although the first sentence says that the character is a master at wielding two weapons, there isn't an explicit statement that two weapons are required to get the benefit. Does this mean that you could use a sword in one hand and your bare fist in the other to get the benefit (i.e. only be wielding one weapon)?

Moreover, the last few words suggest that they have to be bladed weapons (thus you couldn't do a sword and pistol), but again, it's not explicitly stated. I would think that maybe it's implied that you have to have two blades.

To further the confusion, the Edge summary table says the Edge provides "+1 vs. foes with single weapon and no shield; ignore 1 point of gang up bonus", saying nothing about requiring two weapons or the type of the weapon, implying it's on all the time (two weapons, one weapon + fist, or two fisted).

The spirit of the Edge seems to suggest that two bladed weapons are necessary, but I just don't see the words of the Edge explicitly saying it. How exactly is it supposed to work?


The character has to be wielding two weapons at once. It doesn't really matter what those weapons are (including the potential for an improvised weapon). Obviously, the bonus to Fighting only applies to Fighting, so a character with a pistol in one of their hands would not get the bonus to Shooting.

A character with Martial Artist could consider their unarmed attacks as weapons for purposes of the Edge since they are never considered "unarmed."
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests