AB:Supers/Chi and maintaining/disruption, Wall Walking, Fly

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Matchstickman
Seasoned
Posts: 406
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 6:32 am

AB:Supers/Chi and maintaining/disruption, Wall Walking, Fly

#1 Postby Matchstickman » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:06 pm

How does AB:superpowers deal with maintaining powers?
Given each power has its own skill does maintaining the armour power incur a penalty to using other power's skills or does the -1 just apply to using the armour skill again?

Also, how does AB:superpowers deal with disrupting powers?
The rules say to "make one opposed arcane skill roll versus the damage he suffered" if you are maintaining powers and take damage, which skill does the superhero roll on if maintaining multiple powers?

And does both of those answers also apply to the Chi masters in DL:R?


Does the doubling of power points for the Fly spell also count for maintaining it? i.e. would it cost 2 per round rather than 1


The Wall Walking spell allows you to 'climb' surfaces at half your pace, how does that work when combined with ordinary movement? If you move to the wall and then start to climb it how do you determine how far up the wall you get? Does it essentially mean that for every 1" you move up the wall it takes 2" from your 'regular' movement or are they separate movement values (6" regular and 3" 'climb' per turn)? Or can you not 'climb' in the same round you move along a regular surface?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19594
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: AB:Supers/Chi and maintaining/disruption, Wall Walking,

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:19 am

Matchstickman wrote:How does AB:superpowers deal with maintaining powers?
Given each power has its own skill does maintaining the armour power incur a penalty to using other power's skills or does the -1 just apply to using the armour skill again?


Correct, the penalty would just apply to repeated use of the same power as it only affects that arcane skill.

Matchstickman wrote:Also, how does AB:superpowers deal with disrupting powers?
The rules say to "make one opposed arcane skill roll versus the damage he suffered" if you are maintaining powers and take damage, which skill does the superhero roll on if maintaining multiple powers?


He would have to roll each skill for each power individually since they don't all use the same skill.

Matchstickman wrote:And does both of those answers also apply to the Chi masters in DL:R?


As noted in the description of that AB, barring the listed exceptions, Chi Mastery "works exactly as Arcane Background (Super Powers) is described in the Savage Worlds rulebook." Since neither of the above are affected by the exceptions, they work the same.

Matchstickman wrote:Does the doubling of power points for the Fly spell also count for maintaining it? i.e. would it cost 2 per round rather than 1


Nope, it just increases the base cost.

Matchstickman wrote:The Wall Walking spell allows you to 'climb' surfaces at half your pace, how does that work when combined with ordinary movement? If you move to the wall and then start to climb it how do you determine how far up the wall you get? Does it essentially mean that for every 1" you move up the wall it takes 2" from your 'regular' movement...


You nailed it; it would work the same as Difficult Ground where each 1" of movement counts as 2" of Pace. The only other limit (for a success to use) being that it can't be combined with running, so if the character ran in the same action, they couldn't use Wall Walker as well.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests