Martial artist vs. non-martial artist

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
Lord Stone
Seasoned
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 6:04 am

Martial artist vs. non-martial artist

#1 Postby Lord Stone » Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:55 am

If a martial artist attacks someone who is unarmed and not a martial artist, would he gain a +2 to his attack due to the Unarmed Defender rule? The Edge does mention "as if wielding a small knife" but it doesn't flat out say it would give this benefit as well.

And as a followup on my previous question, just to be clear... a clawed character who gets the Martial Artist edge does not gain more damage (Str+d6+d4) right?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19626
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Martial artist vs. non-martial artist

#2 Postby Clint » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:25 am

Lord Stone wrote:If a martial artist attacks someone who is unarmed and not a martial artist, would he gain a +2 to his attack due to the Unarmed Defender rule? The Edge does mention "as if wielding a small knife" but it doesn't flat out say it would give this benefit as well.


It does state, "He is never considered unarmed in combat" which therefore would mean the opposite, that he is considered armed is true. So yeah, he would get the bonus.

Lord Stone wrote:And as a followup on my previous question, just to be clear... a clawed character who gets the Martial Artist edge does not gain more damage (Str+d6+d4) right?


Correct, natural weapons are still weapons and do not count as "unarmed attacks." The character either does Str+d6 with their specific natural weapons (such as claws) or Str+d4 with any other unarmed attack.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests