Question on Dispel Power and Chases

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Volt875
Seasoned
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 3:59 pm

Question on Dispel Power and Chases

#1 Postby Volt875 » Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:35 am

Hello once again people at Pinnacle. Just one question this time.

When you use the dispel power to block another arcane character's power is that it's own sperate roll or does the person being blocked roll count as their spellcasting roll for the power they are trying to use? If that is the case does that mean with the bolt spell, dispel can only block one bolt?

Another question that came to mind right now: If your force your opponent and get a raise, the opponent is affected as if he hit an obstacle. I wondered if you mean a minor or a major obstacle or if it's determined by his card just like if it were of clubs suit.



:blam:

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 20016
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Question on Dispel Power and Chases

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:20 pm

Volt875 wrote:Hello once again people at Pinnacle. Just one question this time.


Or two. ;)

Volt875 wrote:When you use the dispel power to block another arcane character's power is that it's own sperate roll or does the person being blocked roll count as their spellcasting roll for the power they are trying to use? If that is the case does that mean with the bolt spell, dispel can only block one bolt?


The character using dispel interrupts the target before they cast, so in effect, the result of the dispel check becomes their TN to activate their power.

Since even casting multiple bolts is a single action, they would all be subject to that dispel result. The caster would have up to three chances to bypass the dispel result but they all face that TN.

For example, if Caster A interrupts Caster B and rolls a 9 on his Dispel, then Caster B activates three Bolts, he rolls three Arcane Skill dice (and one Wild Die if a Wild Card). He has to get a 9 to successfully activate any of his bolts.

Volt875 wrote:Another question that came to mind right now: If your force your opponent and get a raise, the opponent is affected as if he hit an obstacle. I wondered if you mean a minor or a major obstacle or if it's determined by his card just like if it were of clubs suit.


It doesn't matter if it's a major or minor obstacle. The only difference between them is the modifier to avoid the obstacle if it comes up randomly, where the raise on the Force roll has already caused them to hit the obstacle. The actual effect of hitting an obstacle is the same for both the major and minor results.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest