Multiple Actions and Wildcard Die

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
dracox
Novice
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:09 am

Multiple Actions and Wildcard Die

#1 Postby dracox » Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:05 pm

I think I've been running the whole wildcard die with multiple actions wrong, but at least I've been consistent and running my "baddies" the same way.

If I NOW understand the rules if a character has a gun in each hand (or a knife or whatever) and does an attack with both, each of his attack rolls suffers a -2 to hit (I'm leaving out any edges that might help with the penalty) AND he gets a wildcard die (d6) with each attack (TWO extra d6 wildcard die)...??? Each result is then calculated with the final sum suffering a -2.

In another example lets say not only does this guy want to fire both of his guns (semi-autos) but he wants to taunt as well (another action). This would be a total of 3 actions thus applying a -6(!!!) to each roll for each "action." However, when he rolls the taunt at -6 he gets his WC die. Then when he rolls one attack at -6 he gets another WC die. Then with the final attack (same as the previous but with a different gun/hand) he gets the -6 AND a WC die.

Do I have this right or is it ONE WC die that can replace a failed/lower roll of one of the rolls?

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19757
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Multiple Actions and Wildcard Die

#2 Postby Clint » Wed Sep 05, 2012 12:58 pm

dracox wrote:If I NOW understand the rules if a character has a gun in each hand (or a knife or whatever) and does an attack with both, each of his attack rolls suffers a -2 to hit (I'm leaving out any edges that might help with the penalty) AND he gets a wildcard die (d6) with each attack (TWO extra d6 wildcard die)...??? Each result is then calculated with the final sum suffering a -2.


Close, but if ignoring any Edges to remove penalties, then one of the two attacks will also suffer the -2 penalty for using the offhand.

So one attack is rolled as one Trait die and one Wild die with a -2 penalty (for the main hand). And the other attack is rolled as one Trait die and one Wild Die with a -4 penalty (for the offhand).

The Wild Dice can only replace the Trait die they are rolled with.

dracox wrote:In another example lets say not only does this guy want to fire both of his guns (semi-autos) but he wants to taunt as well (another action). This would be a total of 3 actions thus applying a -6(!!!) to each roll for each "action." However, when he rolls the taunt at -6 he gets his WC die. Then when he rolls one attack at -6 he gets another WC die. Then with the final attack (same as the previous but with a different gun/hand) he gets the -6 AND a WC die.


Actually, 3 actions would be a -4 not -6. It's -2 per additional action after the first.

So he would be -4 to one attack, -4 to the Taunt, and -6 to the attack with the offhand. Again, with each rolled as a separate action.

dracox wrote:Do I have this right or is it ONE WC die that can replace a failed/lower roll of one of the rolls?


Basically, you have it correct. Exceptions are noted where multiple attacks count as one action and only get one Wild Die (frenzy, autofire, multiple bolts...).
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CaptainAhash and 1 guest