Holding Powers on Others

This is the topic for asking questions about how the core rules officially work. Only the official answer guys can reply in this topic. Please read the rules in the first thread.

Moderators: PEG Jodi, The Moderators

Message
Author
outlawstarun1
Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:29 am

Holding Powers on Others

#1 Postby outlawstarun1 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 8:28 am

If a mage has cast a TOUCH spell on an ally and the base duration has run out what are the rules for Maintaining that spell?

Does the mage need to be in LOS, are there range requirements? Deluxe Edition does on elaborate on that.

User avatar
Clint
Site Admin
Posts: 19195
Joined: Tue May 13, 2003 2:28 pm

Re: Holding Powers on Others

#2 Postby Clint » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:35 am

outlawstarun1 wrote:If a mage has cast a TOUCH spell on an ally and the base duration has run out what are the rules for Maintaining that spell?

Does the mage need to be in LOS, are there range requirements? Deluxe Edition does on elaborate on that.


As noted in the description for Range for Powers...

"Range: The maximum distance the target of the power can be from the user when the power is first activated (it remains in effect even if the target moves out of Range as long as it’s maintained)."

So the base range only applies for initial activation, and after that, the power can be maintained regardless of range as long as the caster follows the normal rules for maintenance.
Clint Black
Savage Worlds Core Rules Brand Manager

www.peginc.com


Return to “Official Answers on How the Core Rules Work”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests